Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm new to the linux platform but keen on learning it. I was trying to install gentoo using the 2006 live cd. Using the CLI mode on my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Gentoo Installation error when emerging sys-apps/pciutils-2.2.0-r1

Hi all,

I'm new to the linux platform but keen on learning it.
    I was trying to install gentoo using the 2006 live cd. Using the CLI mode on my IBM R51 Laptop.

It gets stuck at the 14th step:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Installation Progress

On step 14 of 28. Current step:-
    Emerge kernel sources

Emeging sys-apps/pciutils-2.2.0-r1 (1/4)

--------------------46%---------------------

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It gets stuck at the above screen for nearly 30 minutes and then gives me the following error:

There was an Exception received during the install that is outside of the normal errors.
    This is a bad thing. The error was
    EmergePackageError: FATAL: Emerge: Could not emerge sys-apps/pciutils-2.2.0-r1!

Please submit a but report (after searching to make sure its not a known issue and verifying you didn't do something stupid) with the contents of /var/log/install.log and /tmp/installprofile.xml and the version of the installer you use

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can someone tell me what is this error all about and what do I have to do.

I'm not sure whats going wrong.

I'm trying to install gentoo since 4 days.
    First I was stuck with the GUI but later when I went thru this forum I found that the GUI some how sucks so I later took up the CLI but then also it does not work.

Someone please assist.