Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
Currently I have a triboot computer with Windows XP,SUSE 10.1 and Fedora Core 5 I want to remove FC 5 and install Gentoo 2006 using the live cd and I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130

    Gentoo GRUB Questions


    Currently I have a triboot computer with Windows XP,SUSE 10.1 and Fedora Core 5 I want to remove FC 5 and install Gentoo 2006 using the live cd and I also want SUSE to be the Bootloader would I just put the kernel in /boot and for the

    Bootloader it lists GRUB,LILO,NONE-Would I select None
    Install to MBR-And would this be selected or Not
    Boot Drive-Would this be hda
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    I would advise against the graphical installer because I've heard nothing but troubles for people. But more to the point. You could use the same /boot partition as you use for suse. Then when you compile your kernel just make sure you copy it over to this location. Then in your grub.conf or menu.lst file just add an entry for gentoo like this:

    Code:
    title=IBM Thinkpad T30 Powered by Gentoo
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/milan root=/dev/hda3 ro
    where root (hd0,0) is the location of /boot
    and where /boot/milan is the your kernel name (so I named my kernel milan)
    where root=/dev/hda3 is the / partition for gentoo
    and only add ro if you have jfs filesystem for your / partition.

    if you use genkernel instead of manually compiling your kernel the entry will be different check out the example in the handbook.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by spencerf
    I would advise against the graphical installer because I've heard nothing but troubles for people. But more to the point. You could use the same /boot partition as you use for suse. Then when you compile your kernel just make sure you copy it over to this location. Then in your grub.conf or menu.lst file just add an entry for gentoo like this:

    Code:
    title=IBM Thinkpad T30 Powered by Gentoo
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/milan root=/dev/hda3 ro
    where root (hd0,0) is the location of /boot
    and where /boot/milan is the your kernel name (so I named my kernel milan)
    where root=/dev/hda3 is the / partition for gentoo
    and only add ro if you have jfs filesystem for your / partition.

    if you use genkernel instead of manually compiling your kernel the entry will be different check out the example in the handbook.
    so root points to where Gentoo is installed and title is the name and would /boot point to the SUSE /boot and the Gentoo partition is going to be formatted as ext3. Also what about the other options for the Gentoo Live Cd
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Also what about the other options for the Gentoo Live Cd
    If you mean the other options for installing, /*runs of to the gentoo documentation site...*/

    "Holey compiling kernel, Batman! The handbook only lists the two menu-based installers, the GTK and the libcurses based one /*Insert confused sound effects here*/ "

    Ok, seriously, HERE are the two installers, and HERE is the original way to install Gentoo.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Ok got gentoo installed and configured the boot for it but it doesn't boot up and the kernel is located on the /fedora mount on SUSE

    title=Gentoo Linux 2006
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/name of kernel root=/dev/hda7

    What would root (hd0,0) be if its located on hda7
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    What would root (hd0,0) be if its located on hda7
    root (hd0,6)

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    title=Gentoo Linux 2006
    root (hd0,6)
    kernel /boot/name of kernel root=/dev/hda7

    So all I need is the name of the kernel and it should work also I tried the SUSE bootloader way which does it automatically but it doesn't work so I'll have to try it manually.
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Mon May 29 16:49:20 EDT 2006

    color white/blue black/light-gray
    default 2
    timeout 8
    gfxmenu (hd0,5)/boot/message



    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title SUSE Linux 10.1
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda6 vga=0x31a resume=/dev/hda5 splash=silent showopts
    initrd /boot/initrd




    title Gentoo Linux 2006
    root (hd0,6)
    kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda7 vga=791
    initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.15-gentoo-r5



    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows
    chainloader (hd0,1)+1



    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
    title Floppy
    chainloader (fd0)+1



    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- SUSE Linux 10.1
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda6 vga=normal showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noresume nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 edd=off 3
    initrd /boot/initrd
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    I'm assuming it's not working. Try adding the word 'boot' to the end of each of the linux sections.

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    SUSE and Windows work but not gentoo

    title Gentoo Linux 2006
    root (hd0,6)
    kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda7 vga=791
    initrd /boot/initrd

    Would it work if I removed this line
    initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.15-gentoo-r5

    and should this be added
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: gentoo###

    so it looks like this

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: gentoo###
    title Gentoo Linux 2006
    root (hd0,6)
    kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda7 vga=791
    initrd /boot/initrd
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •