Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, This is my first time using linux, I decided to use Gentoo. I'm running it on a Livecd. I'm having problems with my password, Im currently logging in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Password help

Hi there,

This is my first time using linux, I decided to use Gentoo. I'm running it on a Livecd.

I'm having problems with my password, Im currently logging in on the username gentoo that does it automatically but I want to set up my own account. When I try to go to 'users and groups' I don't have the password to enter.

A lot of the folders are locked so I can't edit anything ex. my root password.

I've tried a few things but can't get anywhere.

I'd be highly greatful if someone could help me, step by step.

Regards

Linux Enthusiast
    Hi venop,
    First of all, Live CD is not a real distribution in a sense that all your changes (accounts, passwords, whatever you do will be gone once you reboot your computer. This version of Linux is loaded from a CD, and you cannot save your changes to that same CD. Live CD distributions will let you see what Linux is but they will not give you much benefit of learning because they are like evaluation versions of the real thing (although Live CDs are also useful for other things like password or data recovery). Therefore, if you are new to Linux, may I suggest that you start with some simpler distribution like SuSE, Fedora or Ubuntu by installing it to your hard drive. The best way to learn Linux is to learn it it on a real installed distribution.