Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
ok im a retard at linux ill admit that now, i just finished installing gentoo for the most part and i just finished emerging kde etc but when i restart ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! sullkide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    8

    Unhappy i need help configuring KDE on gentoo etc


    ok im a retard at linux ill admit that now,
    i just finished installing gentoo for the most part and i just finished emerging kde etc but when i restart my computer kde isnt working, my friend who was "holding my hand" through the installation process is now in brussels and is unable to help me other then to tell me that i need to do a few commands begining with "X -configure" as the root i did this and it gives me and error stating



    Fatal server error:
    Caught signal 11. Server aborting

    Aborted


    and then it brings me back to the prompt, can someone help

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    try startx, if you get an error run xorgconfig and follow the instructions
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  3. #3
    Content Team tylerwylie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    120

    Post

    You'll also need to create a ~/.xinitrc if you are using startx on your user to include "startkde" as the only line for now, you can add more as you get more advanced and want other things to run when you start X, but for now just include that.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! sullkide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    8

    sigh

    ive tried both ideas and neither has worked when i do xorgconfig it just gives me the same error message when i "X -configure" and when i startx startkde i get the same error, im sorry i may be doing something wrong but i dont know what it is also when i command X -config kde-2.6.16 i get error saying no screens found, i have no idea what screens are

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Javasnob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    942
    Do you happen to have an ATI or NVIDIA graphics card?
    Flies of a particular kind, i.e. time-flies, are fond of an arrow.

    Registered Linux User #408794

  7. #6
    Just Joined! sullkide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    8

    yes

    yes i have an ATI video card and a spare NVIDIA card, the one im using is an ATI Radeon 9600 pro 128mb graphics card

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •