Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
trying to install gentoo and: first time install failed second time-when installing it freezes third time install failed any ideas?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    cannot install gentoo linux


    trying to install gentoo and:
    first time install failed
    second time-when installing it freezes
    third time install failed

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    we need details man! is it the graphical install? manual install? where is it failing? error messages?
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    540
    If you are attempting to use the graphical installer, please don't. Do a manual install from the documentation.

    The graphical installer is in alpha and still VERY buggy.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  4. #4
    mzq
    mzq is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    26
    Yes, don't use the graphical installer! 2006.0 didn't write the partition table correctly and therefore I lost a lot of data, when I was trying to install Gentoo.

  5. #5
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    its 2004.2 version....it has text install only....

  6. #6
    mzq
    mzq is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    26
    Take 2005.1. That works!

  7. #7
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    hi mzq
    yes i could get v2005 but it wont work on my old machine(with bug on processor)....
    even 2004 is not working

    so i decided to leave that computer...ill install v2006 on my newer machine(ill just have to resize slackware s partition)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •