Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Howdy all. I've recently switched my profile over to 2006.1, and as a result, am attempting to recompile with the new USE flags. Unfortunately, we are having a problem. Basically, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252

    Upgrading to 2006.1...


    Howdy all. I've recently switched my profile over to 2006.1, and as a result, am attempting to recompile with the new USE flags. Unfortunately, we are having a problem.

    Basically, nptl (which glibc now compiles with) requires a CHOST of i486 or better. Mine is i386, presumably because I did the Stage3 install (as the Handbook now does) on my latest install. I know that my computer works with i686, but everything in the Gentoo forums says that changing the CHOST is a horrible idea that causes puppies to fall on ironclad bamboo stakes. Or something along those lines.

    So the idea is, how can I change the CHOST to allow my glibc to update?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    So the idea is, how can I change the CHOST to allow my glibc to update?

    Thanks!
    Well there's some stuff about changing CHOST written in this thread.

    I only figured out that I have to change the CHOST when I was in the middle of the first emerge -e sistem, after starting the upgrade from gcc-3.4 to gcc-4.1. With some searching around, mainly on the gentoo forums, I followed the recommendations of one of the gentoo forum admins. He's since improved those into a mini how-to, which you can read here. What I did was very similar, but without all of the checking of the various files. After changing the CHOST, I did
    Code:
     emerge --oneshot -e glibc binutils gcc
    emerge -e sistem #note that every now and then emerge would exit with an error, whereupon I would use emerge --resume, worked every time
    emerge -e world #same comment as above, though this didn't work for about 5 non-critical packages
    I've just now finished with the world, and everything looks OK for now. I plan on rebooting now, then emerge --sync, emerge --update --deep world followed by a re-compiling of the kernel (which is recommended).

    I'll post here if I encounter any errors, though I'm not expecting anything serious.

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by psic
    I've just now finished with the world, and everything looks OK for now. I plan on rebooting now, then emerge --sync, emerge --update --deep world followed by a re-compiling of the kernel (which is recommended).

    I'll post here if I encounter any errors, though I'm not expecting anything serious.

    Good luck!
    I've finished with all of this and it's gone off without a hitch. The re-compile of the kernel was necessary (or compile actually, as it's a new version) as alsa (and a few others) tossed errors at me during boot-up. I also had to re-emerge ati-drivers, but you have to do that because of the new kernel anyways.

    The only thing which didn't work at first was the sound. Note to self: when sound doesn't work, don't go play with alsa-conf... check if the bloody speakers are plugged in first

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    Ah, same thing happened to me.

    Done all of psic's mentioned steps, but the -e world is taking ages, thanks to the fact that I have to stop-start it each day.

    No breakage so far, except for distcc (which doesn't work at all now, but once did) which has drawn out the whole thing over a week.

    It doesn't hurt to start-stop the emerging process when your doing an --emptytree does it?

    weed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    540
    I did a stage 3 install last time, and my CHOST is i686. I chose the 686 tarball instead of the generic x86. I did that on purpose.

    You should be able to change your CHOST, but you will HAVE to recompile everything. Get ready for a long, long compile.

    I recently switched to the 2006.1 profile, and did an "emerge -avuDN world" to check the use flags (and edited as necessary), then I went ahead and let it build. I have always used nptl and nptlonly in my use flags, so there were no surprises here.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Yeah, the CHOST has been changed successfully, but I'm having trouble re-emerging Locale-gettext. I found some threads in the Gentoo forum about it, so I'm working on that right now.

    Thanks for the help so far, guys. I'll let you know how it goes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •