Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi folks, Gentoo amd64 Gnome-light On exiting Gentoo the system halted but not poweroff. Please advise which file I have to edit? TIA B.R. satimis...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,763

    Gentoo box not poweroff on exiting


    Hi folks,

    Gentoo amd64
    Gnome-light

    On exiting Gentoo the system halted but not poweroff. Please advise which file I have to edit? TIA

    B.R.
    satimis

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    I think poweroff is part of ACPI, did you build your kernel with ACPI while install gentoo.
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,763
    Hi Juan Pablo,

    I think poweroff is part of ACPI, did you build your kernel with ACPI while install gentoo.
    Sorry I can't recall.

    # make menuconfig
    Power Managment Options;
    Legacy Power management API (not checked)

    ACPI Support;
    all items checks except follows:
    Code:
    Video, NUMA support, Debug Statements, ASUS/IBM Laptop Extra
    B.R.
    satimis

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    When compiling my kernel, I forgot to add ACPI and had the same problem as you, recompiled adding ACPI and dont have any problem so far
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,763
    Hi Juan Pablo,

    When compiling my kernel, I forgot to add ACPI and had the same problem as you, recompiled adding ACPI and dont have any problem so far
    Please provide more detail. Which item/items I have to check;

    Legacy Power management API (not checked)

    OR

    ACPI Support;
    all items checks except follows:
    Code:
    Video, NUMA support, Debug Statements, ASUS/IBM Laptop Extra
    TIA

    B.R.
    satimis

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    I also checked it for video and hard disks.
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,763
    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Pablo
    I also checked it for video and hard disks.
    Hi,

    Tks.

    A further question whether the steps following "make menuconfig" are;
    make module install && make install

    TIA

    B.R.
    satimis

  8. #8
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    I think it is viceversa, at first make install and then make modules_install.
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •