Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: network problem

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    network problem


    i have netgear router with DHCP...so everything works fine in all distros.But i gentoo i have some problems.
    when typing
    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    i get err
    hostname not found
    i also cat use mozilla

    i have to set conection manualy....but how????i dont even know my IP adresses

  2. #2
    Do other netowrk service run properly? Specifically can you surf the net and all?
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  3. #3
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    nooooooo...im without net

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    So I would like to recommend this. This is the gentoo handbook chapter on making basic system configurations work (like fstab, net and all). If that does not work please do post. I hope that solves your problem. Good Luck!!!
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  6. #5
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    i've tryed
    emerge dhcpcd
    but it failed

    what should i do?

    please help

  7. #6
    It will of course fail as your net is not working. You will have to fetch the sources required from somewhere and place them all in /usr/portage/distfiles or wherever $DISTDIR in /etc/make.conf points to.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  8. #7
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok i have two gentoo installed on my computer
    one works fine(manualy installed) but i have problems with another(used text installer)

    so here is the problem
    jan@localhost ~ $ su root
    Password:
    localhost jan # cd /etc/init.d
    localhost init.d # ln -s net.lo net.eth0
    ln: `net.eth0': File exists
    localhost init.d # ln -sf net.lo net.eth0
    localhost init.d # config_eth0 ( "dhv
    >
    localhost init.d # config_eth0 ( "dhcp" )
    bash: syntax error near unexpected token `"dhcp"'
    localhost init.d # ln -s net.lo net.eth0
    ln: `net.eth0': File exists
    localhost init.d # ln -s -f net.lo net.eth0
    localhost init.d # config_eth0 ( "dhcp" )
    bash: syntax error near unexpected token `"dhcp"'
    localhost init.d # /etc/init.d/net.eth0
    Usage: net.lo [ flags ] < options >

    Normal Options:
    start stop restart pause zap
    Default init.d options.

    Flags:
    --quiet
    Suppress output to stdout, except if:
    1) It is a warning, then output to stdout
    2) It is an error, then output to stderr
    --nocolor
    Suppress the use of colors.

    Configuration files:
    /etc/conf.d/net.lo /etc/rc.conf

    For more info, please run '/etc/init.d/net.eth0 help'.
    localhost init.d # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
    * Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ] * Starting eth0
    * Bringing up eth0
    * dhcp
    * No loaded modules provide "dhcp" (dhcp_start) [ !! ]localhost init.d # modprobe 8139too
    localhost init.d # dhcpcd
    bash: dhcpcd: command not found
    localhost init.d # rc-update add net.eth0 default
    * net.eth0 added to runlevel default
    * rc-update complete.
    localhost init.d # rc
    * Starting eth0
    * Bringing up eth0
    * dhcp
    * No loaded modules provide "dhcp" (dhcp_start) [ !! ]localhost init.d # rc
    * Starting eth0
    * Bringing up eth0
    * dhcp
    * No loaded modules provide "dhcp" (dhcp_start) [ !! ]localhost init.d # rc
    * Starting eth0
    * Bringing up eth0
    * dhcp
    * No loaded modules provide "dhcp" (dhcp_start) [ !! ]localhost init.d #

  9. #8
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    i think ie tryed almost all
    jan@localhost ~ $ su
    Password:
    localhost jan # config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
    localhost jan # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
    /etc/conf.d/net: line 1: syntax error near unexpected token `"dhcp"'
    /etc/conf.d/net: line 1: `config_eth0 ( "dhcp" )'
    * Starting eth0
    * Cannot default to dhcp as there is no dhcp module loaded
    * No configuration for eth0 [ !! ]localhost jan # dhcp
    bash: dhcp: command not found
    localhost jan # dhcpcd
    bash: dhcpcd: command not found
    localhost jan # gedit /etc/conf.d/net

    (gedit:7675): GnomeUI-WARNING **: While connecting to session manager:
    Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed.
    localhost jan # dhcpcd
    bash: dhcpcd: command not found
    localhost jan # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
    * Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ] * Starting eth0
    * Bringing up eth0
    * dhcp
    * No loaded modules provide "dhcp" (dhcp_start) [ !! ]localhost jan #
    ocalhost jan # /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
    * Starting eth0
    * Bringing up eth0
    * dhcp
    * No loaded modules provide "dhcp" (dhcp_start) [ !! ]localhost jan # rc-update add net.eth0 default
    * net.eth0 already installed in runlevel default; skipping
    localhost jan # rc-update add -f net.eth0 default
    * /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/-f not found; aborting.
    localhost jan # rc-update add net.eth0 default
    * net.eth0 already installed in runlevel default; skipping
    localhost jan # rc
    * Starting eth0
    * Bringing up eth0
    * dhcp
    * No loaded modules provide "dhcp" (dhcp_start) [ !! ] * ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
    * "netmount" was not started.
    localhost jan # netmount
    bash: netmount: command not found
    localhost jan #
    any suggestions?

  10. #9
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    You can chroot from a linux live cd or from another distro and emerge dhcpd from there
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •