Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
i ve installed alsa but i get this err on bootup * Loading ALSA modules ... * Loading: snd-card-0 ... WARNING: Error inserting snd_mpu401_uart (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/drivers/mpu401/snd-mpu401-uart.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    alsa help


    i ve installed alsa but i get this err on bootup
    * Loading ALSA modules ...
    * Loading: snd-card-0 ...
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_mpu401_uart (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/drivers/mpu401/snd-mpu401-uart.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    WARNING: Error inserting snd_ac97_codec (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/pci/ac97/snd-ac97-codec.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_via82xx (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/pci/snd-via82xx.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg) [ !! ] * Loading: snd-seq-oss ...
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_seq_oss (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/acore/seq/oss/snd-seq-oss.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (se [ !! ] * Loading: snd-pcm-oss ...
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_pcm_oss (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/acore/oss/snd-pcm-oss.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dm [ !! ] * Loading: snd-seq-oss ...
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_seq_oss (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/acore/seq/oss/snd-seq-oss.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (se [ !! ] * Loading: snd-pcm-oss ...
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_pcm_oss (/lib/modules/2.6.17.13/alsa-driver/acore/oss/snd-pcm-oss.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dm [ !! ] * ERROR: Failed to load necessary drivers [ ok ]

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    This member had the same problem with no resolution. This may be of assistance.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    i've checked both links....but my problem still isnt solved

    i was following this tutorial
    http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4
    It's probably because you emerged alsa-driver and compiled alsa drivers in the kernel. Delete /lib/modules/2.6.17.13 and rebuild your kernel with a make modules_install and don't emerge alsa-driver this time. Or don't compile them in your kernel and use alsa-driver.

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Look to the bottom of that documentation, I recently had the same error and the fix is explained in those docs. But you really have to make certain that you have alsa either in the kernel or as a driver, not both.

  6. #6
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    what about if i remove alsa driver......would that help?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Remove everything related to ALSA with portage and set everything related to ALSA in the kernel as modules. Recompile the kernel and configure the bootloader. Then use alsaconf to get the card configured.

    Add to your booting process.

    rc-update add alsasound default
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  8. #8
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    ok its done....now i have just to reconfigure and recompile vanilla kernel

  9. #9
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Why vanilla kernel? Just wondering ...
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  10. #10
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    oh i had some problems with gentoo-sources so i decided to install vanilla....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •