Find the answer to your Linux question:
i just installed gentoo 2006.1 using the live cd command line installer. everything went well enough but upon booting into gentoo it seems to have recognized neither of my dvd ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

gentoo no hardware detected

i just installed gentoo 2006.1 using the live cd command line installer. everything went well enough but upon booting into gentoo it seems to have recognized neither of my dvd drives, my soundcard, my ethernet card as i dont seem to have internet access now. does anyone how to fix this or where i might go to find the answers. i am new to gentoo but not linux as i have been using slackware for about six months before this.

Yes, gentoo by default doesn't recognise much in the way of hardware. For your ethernet card, you'll probably have to load the correct kernel module, consult the installation manual which talks about this, perhaps take a look at this one as well. For your sound card, follow these instructions on setting up alsa. For the dvd drive, I think you only have to configure your /etc/fstab file. You can try mounting it via the mount command, though I can't tell you the exact command to use as it depends on which drive this is, for my dvd, the line in fstab is:
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults,noexec,noauto,unhide,users,ro 0 0

Also, check here for gentoo's documentation.

Just Joined!
    thank you for your response. i tried to configure my internet by reinserting the live cd and using "emerge dchpcd" in the terminal and reinstalling here is the error i get in the terminal
    "Calculating dependencies emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "dhcpcd"."
    and still the same problem.. I cant use genkernel since i am not connected to the net..

Just Joined!
    When you have booted to the livecd, can you ping a website to make sure that the livecd picks up your eth0 card?