Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i used to work on a server and it had a host name of myserver.homeunix.com and i was wondering how i would set it up so that i could access ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! robthejackass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    31

    ssh/putty?


    i used to work on a server and it had a host name of myserver.homeunix.com and i was wondering how i would set it up so that i could access my server with a host name instead of a ip address

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    I know that http://www.dyndns.com/ has free domain names like that. I have used them in the past (like several years ago) and they worked find for me
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    If you don't want to set up a publicly registered domain name, you can set a host alias just for yourself. On the client machine, edit /etc/hosts and add a line with the server's IP address followed by the host name you want to use.

    Of course, that's really only a good solution if you work from only one client machine. Otherwise you'd have to edit /etc/hosts on every client you use. If you're using multiple clients, a registered domain name is probably the way to go.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! robthejackass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    31
    ok, iv registerd it on dyndns but its saying connection refused its also saying connection refused when i type in an ip address but iv startes ssh on the gentoo box

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    I've only seen the "connection refused" message when the ssh daemon isn't running or I try to connect to the wrong port.

    If you type
    Code:
    ps -e | grep ssh
    on the server, do you get a line that ends with sshd? If not, the daemon isn't running.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  7. #6
    Just Joined! robthejackass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    31
    i do get a line ending in sshd. how do i find out my port number?

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Ssh runs on port 22 by default. You can check your port number by looking in the sshd_config file (on Debian, it's at /etc/ssh/sshd_config; Gentoo may have it in a different location). Near the top of the file is a line that says something like Port 22. You can change that number to whatever port you want. Some people recommend changing it to anything but 22, to ward off brute-force attacks that are looking to get in on the default port.

    Another possibility is that a firewall is blocking that port.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  9. #8
    Just Joined! robthejackass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    england
    Posts
    31
    /etc/ssh/sshd_config is not the config file on gentoo i am curently looking into what it it is. but i am on a work pc and have just tried to connect to my linux box through putty and it came up with "no route to host" it that meaning that i am been blocked by a firewall or is there a problem with the box? and does the box have to be logged off when i connect?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •