Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just finished my installation and I can't ping to any sites, such as www.google.com , therefore I can't continue to install apache, etc. with the emerge command since it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't ping outside LAN after installation

I just finished my installation and I can't ping to any sites, such as www.google.com, therefore I can't continue to install apache, etc. with the emerge command since it can't resolve any sites.

ANY help is greatly appreciated. I am a newbie to all this, as you can see... and it has been terribly trying to figure this out. I hope I don't have to start from scratch...

THank you in advance,
    Alex

Here is the output from /etc/resolve.conf

# Generated by net-scripts for interface lo
    domain arahome

Here is output from /sbin/route -n

Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

Here is output from ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:04:A4:49:96
    inet addr:192.168.1.4 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:470 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:279 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:49348 (48.1 Kb) TX bytes:38684 (37.7 Kb)
    Interrupt:17 Base address:0x2000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:56 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:56 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4536 (4.4 Kb) TX bytes:4536 (4.4 Kb)

Linux Enthusiast