Find the answer to your Linux question:
So after deciding I'd like to finnaly try Linux out after playing around with Fedora at school. I looked at Gentoo as the best distro for me, and decided I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Live CD Help? Very new to Linux.

So after deciding I'd like to finnaly try Linux out after playing around with Fedora at school.

I looked at Gentoo as the best distro for me, and decided I wanted to try it out.

Now I burn the ISO, pop it in and I get a timeout error at my sound. Fine, I just do the nosound command, and try it agian and it stops at "Configuring OpenGL" and times out, at about 80% booting every time.

Now being a total newbie I have no idea how to fix this and haven't found anything through searches, so if anyone can explain it easily I would appreciate it very much!

Thanks in advanced!

failing to install

I like fedora and even tried gentoo. like you i'm new to linux. did you ever get gentoo installed or is it failing to install? you may have a hardware conflict. my problem with both mentioned versions was neither allowed me wireless access or to play a dvd on my sony vaio laptop. I eventually discovered freespire and am happy with it. Did you try loading fedora core?

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by cutout
    I like fedora and even tried gentoo. like you i'm new to linux. did you ever get gentoo installed or is it failing to install? you may have a hardware conflict. my problem with both mentioned versions was neither allowed me wireless access or to play a dvd on my sony vaio laptop. I eventually discovered freespire and am happy with it. Did you try loading fedora core?
    Well off the Gentoo Live disk when it's booting it stops, so I never actually get into it.

I haven't tried installing Fedora yet, I also just tried the Live CD on my other PC and same problem, stops at the configuring OpenGL.