Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Gentoo AMD64 Gnome light desktop Gigabyte GeForce 6600, DDRII 256MB Philips 200WP7ES LCD display, DVI input. (resolution: 1680x1050) Just installed the captioned LCD display. Failed to set it display properly. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,793

    LCD display fails to display max resolution


    Gentoo AMD64
    Gnome light desktop
    Gigabyte GeForce 6600, DDRII 256MB
    Philips 200WP7ES LCD display, DVI input.
    (resolution: 1680x1050)

    Just installed the captioned LCD display. Failed to set it display properly. The screen leaves a dark column of about 1-1/4" wide on each side of the display

    Desktop --> Preferences --> Screen Resolution
    Default Setting:
    1400x1050 (max)
    Refresh Rate : 60Hz


    $ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Code:
    Section "Module"
    
    # This loads the DBE extension module.
    
        Load        "dbe"   # Double buffer extension
    
    # This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
    # initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
        SubSection  "extmod"
          Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
        EndSubSection
    
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "Files"
    
        FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
        FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
        FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
    #    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
        FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        Identifier  "Keyboard1"
        Driver      "kbd"
    
    #    Option     "Protocol"      "Xqueue"
    
        Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    
        Option "XkbRules"   "xorg"
        Option "XkbModel"   "pc101"
        Option "XkbLayout"  "us"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
    # Identifier and driver
    
        Identifier  "Mouse1"
        Driver      "mouse"
    #   Option "Protocol"    "PS/2"
    #   Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"
        Option "Protocol"    "Auto"
    #   Option "Device"      "/dev/input/mice"
        Option "Device"      "/dev/psaux"
    
    #   Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5 6 7"
        Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5"
    
    # Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button mice
    # Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)
    
        Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    #    Option "Emulate3Timeout"    "50"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
        Identifier  "Philips 200WP7"
    
        HorizSync   30-98
    
        VertRefresh 56-76
        DisplaySize 325 260
    
    
    EndSection
    
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Graphics device section
    # **********************************************************************
    
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "nv"
    
    EndSection
    
    # Device configured by xorgconfig:
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Gigabyte"
    #   Driver      "vga"
        Driver      "nv"
            # unsupported card
        VideoRam    256000
        # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier  "Screen 1"
        Device      "Gigabyte"
        Monitor     "Philips 200WP7"
        DefaultDepth 24
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       8
            Modes       "1680x1050"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       16
            Modes       "1680x1050"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes       "1680x1050"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
    
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    
    # The Identifier line must be present
        Identifier  "Simple Layout"
    
        Screen "Screen 1"
    
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    
    EndSection
    Please advise how to get the screen displaying 1680x1050 resolution. TIA


    B.R.
    satimis

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Chances are you are going to have to use the proprietary Nvidia driver (x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers) because the open source nv driver probably doesn't support that resolution.

    You will want to do this (not in X):
    Code:
    emerge nvidia-drivers
    modprobe nvidia
    depmod -a
    eselect opengl set nvidia
    nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf (change all instances of "nv" to "nvidia")
    /etc/init.d/xdm restart
    That should get you the resolution you want. If not, then you can play around with that, at least you will have the 3d acceleration driver working, and you will know you have the ability to run that resolution.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,793
    Hi gruven,

    Gnome Light Desktop


    Your advice worked here.

    Resolution: 1680x1050
    Refresh rate: 60Hz

    Tks.


    A minor side problem created.

    Clicking
    Desktop --> Shutdown --> Restart
    has no response.

    I have to click the terminal icon on the top toolbar to make it to work.

    It happened the same on
    Desktop --> Shutdown --> Shutdown

    Where should I look at. TIA


    B.R.
    satimis

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    I am really not sure what the problem is with that, as my gnome shuts down correctly with the nvidia driver.

    Are you running stable or ~arch? I am running ~amd64. I also have the full gnome desktop installed.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,793
    Hi gruven,

    Are you running stable or ~arch? I am running ~amd64. I also have the full gnome desktop installed.
    Gnome 2.14.2 stable

    I'm also running amd64.


    satimis

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    2.16 is stable now, you should sync and update.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •