Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unhappy Installing Programs (RPM, Slackware??)

I installed Gentoo and am trying to install nmap but when I type RPM it says command not found so I tried installpkg and it says the same thing. How do you install programs if there is no installer included??

You install things in Gentoo using portage. Here's a tutorial on it:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handboo...?part=2&chap=1

If you're new to Linux in general I highly recommend you do not start with Gentoo. It has a lot more of a learning curve than other distributions. On the other hand, you do learn a lot getting it to work.
    Registered Linux user #270181

Uh oh, this emerge command is already getting over my head. Talking about Arches and make.profile stuff..

I am very new to linux and am looking for a dist that I can install some of my commonly used programs (nmap, ettercap, ethereal etc) and setup as a webserver, ftp server. Just trying to learn the basics of linux.

What dist do you suggest? I like to use command line mostly but like to have a GUI on the side for when I get confused.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by DeepGround
    What dist do you suggest?
    I kind of set myself up for that one, didn't I? Any major distribution will work just fine as a webserver/ftp server, and most have your favorite programs (ethereal, etc) installed by default. You might take a look at DistroWatch. The top 5 on the list are the most popular, and probably have everything you need.

In other words, I don't suggest any one in particular, just that you try a few and see what hits you.

Smile

Thanx Man. I am checkin out SUSE 9.2 right now and it had rpm right off the bat.

Quote Originally Posted by DeepGround
    Thanx Man. I am checkin out SUSE 9.2 right now and it had rpm right off the bat.