Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hey... Ive been using ubuntu comfortably for quite a few months, done quite a bit of customization and whatnot. Gentoo seemed like something I wanted on my machine, so I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! th3dougler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    11

    Installation from LiveCD Problems


    hey... Ive been using ubuntu comfortably for quite a few months, done quite a bit of customization and whatnot. Gentoo seemed like something I wanted on my machine, so I burned the LiveCD and was very impressed with its minimalism and whatnot

    I decided to install it using the wizard, the configuration all went smoothly and it looked like i didnt screw anything up [famous last words]. But about mid-way through the install it tells me:
    Code:
    There was an Exception received during the install that is outside of the normal install errors.  This is a bad thing. The error was:[Errno 5] Input/output error
    I googled it... learned nothing, and am in a bit of a pickle. As it formats the drive before it finds the error. I know I'm not giving you much to work with, but even the compile_output file is corrupted for some reason.

    In Review:
    x86 Arch
    Using LiveCD
    No errors during configuration

    Any help would be appreciated

    EDIT: I hope the answer is not "lurk moar"

  2. #2
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by th3dougler
    I decided to install it using the wizard
    Well there's yer problem!
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  3. #3
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    Live cd sucks because it has 10000000000000000 of bugs.....

    Download 55mb installer (without stage and portage ) and gentoo hanbook. Than install gentoo manualy (by inserting commands and editing files).

    Good luck in next "installing week"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! th3dougler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    11
    This is what I feared most :'(

    Alright, I'll likely bump in a few days.

  6. #5
    Just Joined! th3dougler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    11
    b-b-b-b-bump

    the install went smoothly (or so I thought)

    I must have missed something stupid, because now Gentoo isnt resolving hostnames. i.e.
    ping www.google.com
    results in nothing
    but..
    ping 64.233.167.99
    is successful.

    Halp!

    EDIT: okay, when I boot up the live cd the /etc/resolv.conf file has a line
    Code:
    nameserver 192.168.2.1
    and my gentoo setup does not, I tried to copy over the file but something keeps writing over it at boot

    EDIT: EDIT:

    Everything works if i just add
    Code:
    nameserver 192.168.2.1
    manually... but I dont want to have to do that at boot, every boot

    surely this is not a problem for a bunch of smart people such as yourselves :3

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7
    did you add your ethernet card to the defualt run level?

    #ifconfig

    if you don't see an eth0 set up there and you just see the lo there the eth0 wasn't added to the default runlevel

    what I did was during the install after I unpacked the stage and portage tree I added the net-eth0 to default runlevel by entering.

    # rc-update add net-eth0 default

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •