Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Installation from LiveCD Problems

hey... Ive been using ubuntu comfortably for quite a few months, done quite a bit of customization and whatnot. Gentoo seemed like something I wanted on my machine, so I burned the LiveCD and was very impressed with its minimalism and whatnot

I decided to install it using the wizard, the configuration all went smoothly and it looked like i didnt screw anything up [famous last words]. But about mid-way through the install it tells me:
    There was an Exception received during the install that is outside of the normal install errors.  This is a bad thing. The error was:[Errno 5] Input/output error
    I googled it... learned nothing, and am in a bit of a pickle. As it formats the drive before it finds the error. I know I'm not giving you much to work with, but even the compile_output file is corrupted for some reason.

In Review:
    x86 Arch
    Using LiveCD
    No errors during configuration

Any help would be appreciated

EDIT: I hope the answer is not "lurk moar"

Quote Originally Posted by th3dougler
    I decided to install it using the wizard
    Well there's yer problem!
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

Live cd sucks because it has 10000000000000000 of bugs.....

Download 55mb installer (without stage and portage ) and gentoo hanbook. Than install gentoo manualy (by inserting commands and editing files).

Good luck in next "installing week"

4. $spacer_open
    This is what I feared most :'(

Alright, I'll likely bump in a few days.

the install went smoothly (or so I thought)

I must have missed something stupid, because now Gentoo isnt resolving hostnames. i.e.
    results in nothing
    is successful.

EDIT: okay, when I boot up the live cd the /etc/resolv.conf file has a line