Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I am on my last step to installing Gentoo, but I get a GRUB error when I try to boot: Code: VFS: Cannot open root device "hda3" or unknown-block(0,0) Please ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57

    GRUB Error (wrong 'root=' format)


    I am on my last step to installing Gentoo, but I get a GRUB error when I try to boot:

    Code:
    VFS: Cannot open root device "hda3" or unknown-block(0,0)
    Please append a correct "root=" boot option
    Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

    This is what my current /boot/grub/grub.conf looks like:

    Code:
    default 0
    timeout 2
    title=Linux
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/linux-2.6.17.13 root=/dev/hda3
    Yes I made sure that was the correct kernel name in the correct directory. Partition 1 is my boot, 2 is my swap, and 3 is my root. I installed GRUB to partition 1 where the /boot is. I formatted corectly and everything. I did this before, and I remember getting this very same error, but I don't remember what I did to GRUB to fix it. I didn't make changes to anything else, I think.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    This is my /etc/fstab:

    Code:
    /dev/hda1 /boot ext3 defaults,noatime 1 2
    /dev/hda3 / ext3 noatime 0 1
    /dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    whats in device.map file?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    /boot/grub/device.map
    Code:
    (fd0) /dev/fd0
    (hd0) /dev/hda

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Did you compile the file system into the kernel or as modules? Did you use one of the automated installers or install it yourself on the command line following the handbook?

    It looks to me that either you don't have your file systems compiled into your kernel, or that your mapping of the filesystems is wrong.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    I used *'s, not the M so not modules but compiled into the kernel. I spent several days trying to install it manually and I followed all the directions exactly in the handbook.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    So how can I make it redirect properly?

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Another possiblility is that you didn't add the correct chipset drivers in the kernel. That would be what I looked for next, since it looks as if your mapping is correct, and you built the filesystems into the kernel.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •