Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a college freshman and next semester I am going to start Linux I (in 2 weeks) i am trying to get a jump on the class. I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Diving in head first.. Sink or Swim!?!?!?!

I am a college freshman and next semester I am going to start Linux I (in 2 weeks) i am trying to get a jump on the class. I have always been interested, and have researched many distros. I finally decided Gentoo was the one for me (it was a toss up between this and Slackware). I first tried to install Debian as a 'dry run', it failed from my minimal disc saying i didn't have an Ethernet card. I was wondering if anyone out there would be nice enough to help me out with:
    http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/noteboo...098024p,00.htm Toshiba Satellite A100 (Core Duo Processor T2400 1.83GHz, 512MB RAM) (this is my laptop with a few differences.. nothing too special though)
    1) What NIC would you suggest? (wireless maybe?)

2) i am a pretty quick at learning when it comes to technology, but am i in over my head?

3) I am very interested in the programming aspect on Linux (mainly because im trying to become a programmer =P) ... So far my skills are very limited but i know the very basics of C++, VB, Java, and JavaScript as well as a good bit of knowledge in XHTML and CSS. Where should i start? Any good books that you would recommend?

4)I'm open to anything else you might have to say!!!

IMO you are better off trying a different distro like Ubuntu or Fedora. Gentoo is going to be a little difficult to get going without some linux knowledge.

Quote Originally Posted by pen45us
    I first tried to install Debian as a 'dry run', it failed from my minimal disc saying i didn't have an Ethernet card.