Find the answer to your Linux question:
Alright, take it rather easy on me because I'm new to gentoo but I think that I've found out Apache will create a website people can see, correct? Well this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Apache web server. [Resolved]

Alright, take it rather easy on me because I'm new to gentoo but I think that I've found out Apache will create a website people can see, correct? Well this is true if I go to http://192.168.0.111 which is my server's IP address. But if I misunderstand the network dynamics isn't this IP just for my network and if ANYONE else tries it won't it just give them an DNS error? How do I have my website broadcasted with an actual unique IP?

My network is setup that I have a wireless router with 2 cat 5 cables coming from it, one to my server and the other to another computer, while my laptop runs off the wireless.

Also if I go to http://192.168.0.111 on the other computer connected to the router it still works, but I assumed as much because its connected to my network.

Quote Originally Posted by Tibblez View Post
    Alright, take it rather easy on me because I'm new to gentoo but I think that I've found out Apache will create a website people can see, correct?
    This is correct
    Well this is true if I go to http://192.168.0.111 which is my server's IP address. But if I misunderstand the network dynamics isn't this IP just for my network and if ANYONE else tries it won't it just give them an DNS error? How do I have my website broadcasted with an actual unique IP?
    First you need to figure out your external IP (i.e. the IP address the internet sees). There are many ways to do this, but I use WhatIsMyIP.com. Click on that link, and it'll tell you your IP.