Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello, At uni I do programming on FORTRAN. On my desktop I have FORTRAN installed (apt-get install gfortran). On my laptop I have recently installed gentoo. Now I need to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie tvilkov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    136

    gfortran for gentoo


    Hello,
    At uni I do programming on FORTRAN. On my desktop I have FORTRAN installed (apt-get install gfortran). On my laptop I have recently installed gentoo. Now I need to have fortran on it, but I can't seem to find it anywhere. I have searched portage for fortran and gfortran, but there are no compilers. I have installed gcc 4.1.x using emerge, as it said that fortran is automatically installed with gcc, but no luck. On command 'gfortran' it sais 'command not found'. I did not have fortran set in my USE flags (if that made a difference). What can I do? I downloaded gfortran source code, but on './configure' it sais that install.sh not found. Do I need to recompile gcc with USE='fortran (or gfortran)'? Thanks.
    Gentoo 2.6.24 amd64
    AMD Anthlon 64 X2, 2 GB RAM, Asus M2N-MX, nVidia GeForce 9600GT 512Mb, 250Gb + 160Gb HDDs

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Do I need to recompile gcc with USE='fortran (or gfortran)'?
    Quick answer, yes

    EDIT, just emerge using -av to check the USE flags of the package
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Pablo
    Quick answer, yes
    i do a lot of programming in Fortran and installed Gentoo two days back only. i am facing same problem.
    thanx for suggestion.
    i was expecting your reply in this thread.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie tvilkov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    136
    Ok, I'll give it a shot
    Gentoo 2.6.24 amd64
    AMD Anthlon 64 X2, 2 GB RAM, Asus M2N-MX, nVidia GeForce 9600GT 512Mb, 250Gb + 160Gb HDDs

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie tvilkov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    136
    Thanks! That has fixed my problem!
    Gentoo 2.6.24 amd64
    AMD Anthlon 64 X2, 2 GB RAM, Asus M2N-MX, nVidia GeForce 9600GT 512Mb, 250Gb + 160Gb HDDs

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by tvilkov
    Thanks! That has fixed my problem!
    it means, this will work in my machine too. i will try it today night.
    thanx !
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •