Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Ok so i am working on my second install of Gentoo. I did a test run on an older comp to make sure i could do it before moving to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

nvidia-kernel

Ok so i am working on my second install of Gentoo. I did a test run on an older comp to make sure i could do it before moving to my primary comp because i didnt want to lose time figureing everything out. The test run went well. Only problems were with configuring X but i got it all werked out eventually. I am fairly new to linux i have been using it steadily for about 3 months now i ahve used mandrake and fedora cores 1 and 2. I moved to gentoo partly because of the challenge but mostly because of the flexibility.

However today i compiled the kernel and emerged my nforce and nvidia mods. However nforce-audio and nforce-net failed to emerge. I dont remember the exact error messages, but i am more concerned with my vidoe from nvidia-kernel. It emerged fine into /lib/modules/2.6.7 ...whatever the defualt was. Now when i tried modprobe nvidia, it gave me an error that it was an incorrect format of a module or somethign like that. It definintely found the mod as the error message pointed to the directory it was in. I even tried to make a link from the nvidia.ko to an nvidia.o figuring maybe it wanted a ".o" instead of a ".ko"

Luckily i compiled the nv driver into the kernel incase. so X works for now. Or maybe not. Could it be that the nv driver is blocking my nvidia from being loaded. If so i tried to rmmod nv but it said it couldnt find it. I compiled it directly to the kernel. DO i need to recompile, is there an easy fix, or whatever. SOrry about the book i just wrote but i figured details are better.

PS nvidia was in the autoload.d but i saw it fail to load during startup...dont know if that helps.

Details are good.