Find the answer to your Linux question:
I did a whole-forum search on usbvision , and no hits, so I guess it's OK to go ahead with the post ... I have a camera that feeds composite ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Think I need to install usbvision module, to get video camera working

I did a whole-forum search on usbvision, and no hits, so I guess it's OK to go ahead with the post ...

I have a camera that feeds composite video to a Belkin USB 1.1 (yes, it's old) VideoBus device, that apparently contains a Nogatech chip. Searching for that chip, seems it used to require a driver, but for quite some time support has been moved into the kernel.

I'm almost positive the Belkin device is internally identical to a Dazzle DVC 80, a product that seems to have better name-recognition, if that's of any help.

I am a bit of a noob with this terminology, but after more searching, I began to think the support's not actually inside the kernel itself, but in a module called usbvision. Then, I also saw a reference to USB5 (don't know what that is) and v41-dvb (the module is 'part of that', it said). Anyway, from this I get, that I need usbvision ... is this generally correct?

However, a list of the modules in my EasyPeasy sub-distro of Ubuntu Lucid Lynx, shows that usbvision isn't there. For anyone to whom it would be helpful to look, I'll attach a text file that shows a list of my modules (among other things -- so just scroll down to the modules ).

I read you can just add it outright, or add it so it only installs as needed. The article gave that advice, and then just stopped there.

If this is what I need, then how do I go about actually getting this module into my OS? If there's a choice, can it be done without recompiling the kernel?
    Attached Files Attached Files

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.