Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello guys! I was quite happy to learn how to caprure live videos using my webcam and vlc. Only to find out that the video output was several hundred MBs ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,274

    VLC Captured Video Way too big.


    Hello guys!

    I was quite happy to learn how to caprure live videos using my webcam and vlc. Only to find out that the video output was several hundred MBs for about a minute of capture.

    I was planning to try and record our front gate overnight and it would not be practical if the output is that large.

    May I please know if it's possible to capture video at KBs instead of MBs and if it's possible too to take still pics instead say.......one shot every two or three seconds?

    Thanks as always,

    nujinini
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  2. #2
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,649
    VLC sounds like overkill... Have a look at Zone Minder
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,274
    Quote Originally Posted by elija View Post
    VLC sounds like overkill... Have a look at Zone Minder
    Oh yes, I remember Zone Minder/ I came across it two years ago.

    Will give it a try. Thanks elija!

    regards,

    nujinini
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,274
    Oh my.... this is going to be a little bloodier than I thought. I tried to install and it gives me this error report. I can't seem to understand what it's trying to say. Help please?

    Code:
    Preconfiguring packages ...
    Selecting previously deselected package mysql-client.
    (Reading database ... 220607 files and directories currently installed.)
    Unpacking mysql-client (from .../mysql-client_5.1.62-0ubuntu0.11.10.1_all.deb) ...
    Unpacking mysql-server-5.1 (from .../mysql-server-5.1_5.1.62-0ubuntu0.11.10.1_i386.deb) ...
    useradd: cannot lock /etc/passwd; try again later.
    adduser: `/usr/sbin/useradd -d /nonexistent -g mysql -s /bin/false -u 120 mysql' returned error code 1. Exiting.
    dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/mysql-server-5.1_5.1.62-0ubuntu0.11.10.1_i386.deb (--unpack):
     subprocess new pre-installation script returned error exit status 1
    No apport report written because MaxReports is reached already
                                                                  Selecting previously deselected package mysql-server.
    Unpacking mysql-server (from .../mysql-server_5.1.62-0ubuntu0.11.10.1_all.deb) ...
    Errors were encountered while processing:
     /var/cache/apt/archives/mysql-server-5.1_5.1.62-0ubuntu0.11.10.1_i386.deb
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    A package failed to install.  Trying to recover:
    Setting up mysql-client (5.1.62-0ubuntu0.11.10.1) ...
    Setting up mythtv-common (2:0.24.0+fixes.20110908.1de0431-0ubuntu1) ...
    useradd: cannot lock /etc/passwd; try again later.
    adduser: `/usr/sbin/useradd -d /home/mythtv -g mythtv -s /bin/sh -u 120 mythtv' returned error code 1. Exiting.
    dpkg: error processing mythtv-common (--configure):
     subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 1
    dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of mysql-server:
     mysql-server depends on mysql-server-5.1; however:
      Package mysql-server-5.1 is not installed.
    dpkg: error processing mysql-server (--configure):
     dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of mythtv-frontend:
     mythtv-frontend depends on mythtv-common; however:
      Package mythtv-common is not configured yet.
    dpkg: error processing mythtv-frontend (--configure):
     dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    Errors were encountered while processing:
     mythtv-common
     mysql-server
     mythtv-frontend
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,274
    Don't know how to proceed from here, please.

    Code:
    root@jun:/home/jun# ls
    anomos       examples.desktop        Music       utorrent-server-v3_0
    Argentina    EyNIGHT MASTERLIST.xls  na          Videos
    Desktop      Firefox_wallpaper.png   naa         xa
    Documents    galaxy                  Pictures    yvonne
    Downloads    games.pdf               Public      ZoneMinder-1.25.0
    Dropbox      history_May172012       tab
    dvdrip-data  history.txt             Templates
    dwhelper     man                     Ubuntu One
    root@jun:/home/jun#
    Code:
    root@jun:/home/jun# cd ZoneMinder-1.25.0/
    root@jun:/home/jun/ZoneMinder-1.25.0# ls
    acinclude.m4  configure     install-sh     NEWS     zmconfgen.pl.in
    aclocal.m4    configure.ac  Makefile.am    README   zm.conf.in
    AUTHORS       COPYING       Makefile.in    scripts
    ChangeLog     db            misc           src
    config.h.in   depcomp       missing        TODO
    config.log    INSTALL       mkinstalldirs  web
    root@jun:/home/jun/ZoneMinder-1.25.0#
    Code:
    root@jun:/home/jun/ZoneMinder-1.25.0# ./configure
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
    checking for gawk... gawk
    checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
    configure: WARNING: You can call configure with the --with-libarch option.
        This tells configure where to find architecture specific libraries.
        The default of 'lib' is usually ok but 64 bit machines may require lib64.
        e.g. --with-libarch=lib or --with-libarch=lib64
    configure: WARNING: You can call configure with the --with-mysql option.
        This tells configure where to find the MySql C library and headers if configure cannot
        locate them automatically.
        e.g. --with-mysql=/usr/local or --with-mysql=/usr
    configure: WARNING: You can call configure with the --with-ffmpeg option.
        This tells configure where to find the ffmpeg root directory within which are the libavcodec
        and libavformat files that can be used to build true MPEG streaming into ZoneMinder. Ensure that
        your copy of ffmpeg has installed libraries as well as binaries (use 'make installlib'). If you
        are using a local install of ffmpeg you may have to remove or rename a previous real installation
        as the headers and libraries from that will probably be picked up before your local copy.
        e.g. --with-ffmpeg=/usr/local
    configure: WARNING: You can call configure with the --with-extralibs option.
        Ordinarily you will need to use this option only when your copy of ffmpeg has been built
        with support for additional formats and you would use this option to detail which additional
        libraries ffmpeg was built with so that it is able to link successfully with ZoneMinder.
        You will need to wrap this option in quotes if it contains any spaces.
        e.g. --with-extralibs="-lmp3lame"
    configure: error: You must call configure with the --with-webdir option.
        This tells configure where to install PHP and web files and scripts.
        e.g. --with-webdir=/var/www/html or --with-webdir=/www/vhtdocs/<site>
    root@jun:/home/jun/ZoneMinder-1.25.0#
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    so you are on some debian or ubuntu? in post #4, it looks like you are trying to install zoneminder via repos (which is what i was going to suggest), but it looks like you are not running it as root - at least you are getting permission errors. do you need to use sudo, e.g.:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install zoneminder
    or something like that?

  8. #7
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,649
    What atreyu said!

    And for post 5 you need to add the appropriate options to the configure command. For example
    Code:
    ./configure --with-webdir=/var/www/html
    Edit: Also found this series of guides
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,274
    I think zm has not released a version for ubuntu 11.10 desktop. I tried to install and seemed to encounter no issues at all but sad to say, still not working

    I guess I have to wait for them to release one. Not unless there are other options out there I can also give a try?
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

  10. #9
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    How about a PPA version for Ubuntu? They're not "official" but you may find one that works.

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer nujinini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,274
    Sure thing atreyu!

    I'll give it a try too. I'll be starting a new thread though on ffmpeg since I think I got it working but have some things to ask about it.

    Thanks!
    nujinini
    Linux User #489667

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •