Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi I'm about to buy 2 computersystems, which will have to work with linux (& windows). In fact I don't know that much about linux. I can work with it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    compatib question: motherboard (fedora)


    Hi

    I'm about to buy 2 computersystems, which will have to work with linux (& windows). In fact I don't know that much about linux. I can work with it a bit. I need it for school. I was wondering if you expect any compatibility problems. When google, I don't find much information about linux (fedora) drivers, certainly not for motherboards. I want everything to work, including the onboard audio!!!!

    1th system:

    GigaByte VGA GeForce 8600GTS Silent 256 MB, PCI-e 16x
    MSI Moederbord P35 NEO2 FIR
    2 sata harddisks in raid 0
    E6750 core duo

    2n system:

    GigaByte Moederbord GA-P35-DS3P
    Sapphire VGA Radeon X1950XT 256 MB, PCI-e 16x
    2 sata harddisk in raid 0
    Q6600 quad processor


    Thanks in advance
    Compugreen

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by Compugreen View Post
    1th system:

    GigaByte VGA GeForce 8600GTS Silent 256 MB, PCI-e 16x
    MSI Moederbord P35 NEO2 FIR
    2 sata harddisks in raid 0
    E6750 core duo
    The CPU and graphics should give you no trouble. I'm not sure if your RAID setup will work out of the box, though. RAID has historically been kind of spotty in Linux.

    2n system:

    GigaByte Moederbord GA-P35-DS3P
    Sapphire VGA Radeon X1950XT 256 MB, PCI-e 16x
    2 sata harddisk in raid 0
    Q6600 quad processor
    Again, I'm not sure of the RAID on this, and the ATI card will definitely give you more trouble with 3D drivers than Nvidia. It can be done, it's just more work.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    re

    thanks,
    but was i also wondering if the onboard audio of the motherboards will work automatically?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    The MSI motherboard uses the a Realtek sound chip, those are fairly standard and should work fine.

    MSI -- MICRO-STAR INT'L CO., LTD.

    The Gigabyte board uses the same chipset, as far as I can tell. You shouldn't have any problems.

    GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Overview
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    thanks

    thanks for y answers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •