Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hello, I'm new to Linux and I got some questions concerning the power that is required ! I want to build a server that offers Web hosting (ruby on rails, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    19

    What about power ?


    Hello,
    I'm new to Linux and I got some questions concerning the power that is required !

    I want to build a server that offers Web hosting (ruby on rails, php and mysql) and email hosting, audio streaming (only for streaming the input from the soundcard) and teamspeak. But this server is only connected to a 0.6 Mbit/s upstream and 6 Mbit/s downstream line. So what about the power ?
    The second point is, the same server is also connected to an internal network, based on 0.1 Gbit/s lines and a WLAN with 54 Mbit/s. For the internal network the server should offer also teamspeak services as well as a remote service xrdp homepage ( based on the x window system ). Inside this remote service the user connect via a 1 Gbit/s line to another server using VnC. The internal network is used by about 2 to 4 Persons a time.

    Now my question is what about the hardware ? Is it possible to combine both sides in on box, or shell I use two ?

    My own suggestion was about 1,5 to 2 Ghz and about 512MB to 1024 Mb for Ram. I also thought about a dual 800 Mhz ! So what is your opinion ?

    Hope you can help me
    Snoop

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well it depents, what kind of page is the httpd going to run?
    How often will it be used and by how many people at one?
    If its all on a low scale, (< 50usrs a day) you can run on 1 Ghz fine.
    But if the xVnc is going to run with KDE and Beryl for example you need WAY more.. even only with KDE.
    My advice is, Run xVNC with Fluxbox, icewm or max with xfce..
    Then I'd add atleast 750Mhz + 256 MB RAM only for that..
    If I were you Id not run X11 there at all but a shh server so you can control using command line.
    Well, atleast be sure you can still upgrade the server later on.
    So Id buy atleast a Motherboard with 2 extra RAM slots and a Processor that can run atleast 1Ghz and can upgrade to 2Ghz.
    But, I always get a Quad-Core for a Server.. Since well Id never run a server myself so Id never pay for one Well.. I hope that that helped and didnt confuse you more
    If you need help with putting this on.. Id be Glad to help.. =)

    Another advice.. for a server.. DONT run Ubuntu or something.
    But run a Barebone Installation. That way you dont waste CPU, RAM and HD-space.

    Cheers,
    ~ Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    19
    I just want to use X11 because the xrpd is based on X11, so I think I do not need any other graphical Interface, like KDE or Gnome.

    About the homepage, I do not know how many users click my page a day but I do not think that more then 50 users do ! I only mentioned the homepage because I heard that running ruby on rails need some resources to compile the page.

    About the distribution I thought about either building my own Linux, or running some server version.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    But then i still dont get why you use xrdp.
    You can better use webmin for server maintainability..

    well, building your own linux is a hard and time consuming job..
    You better start with a Barebone linux before you do that..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by RobinVossen View Post
    But then i still dont get why you use xrdp.
    You can better use webmin for server maintainability..
    My reason why I want to use xrdp is that I need a remote server that is compatible to the microsoft remote server, the protocol should be the same. And the only program that runs on this server is a fullscreen VNC client, so the remote server is only some kind of gateway or converter, on the one hand there is the Remote protocol and on the other hand their is the vNC protocol and a teamspeak channel.

    Quote Originally Posted by RobinVossen View Post
    well, building your own linux is a hard and time consuming job..
    You better start with a Barebone linux before you do that..
    Maybe, I also thought about using Unix, but that is not important at this point, first I have to find the required hardware.

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    heh, well since you want to run x11.. (and I still dont get it sorry =P)
    Make it a 1.5Ghz 1280 MB Ram Dual Channel
    That will hold it perfectly..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    19
    That's for sure! But such a system is going to be expensive and I'm not quiet sure if I really need a 1,5 Ghz dual core and 1280 MB of Ram. Don't you think that's too much ?

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    I never said something about DualCore did I?? =P
    If you get rid of the x11 and replace it by ssh.
    You need about
    1Ghz and 512MB RAM..
    Well to be sure run a VirtualBox at start..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    19
    That's a great Idea, to run a virtual box, thanks for that !

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    No biggy
    innotek Virtual Box is great.
    I prefer it over VMware..

    Maybe you should take a look at it.
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •