Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm pretty new to Linux, so forgive me if I'm being stupid at some point. I'll try and educate myself. So, here's my problem. I have this ATI Radeon 7500 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

ATI Radeon 7500 w/common Linux distributions

I'm pretty new to Linux, so forgive me if I'm being stupid at some point. I'll try and educate myself.

So, here's my problem. I have this ATI Radeon 7500 (PCI) which I'm trying to install in a slightly older computer. The motherboard on this computer (it's a Dell motherboard) has a built-in graphics card as well, but it's less than fantastic, so I want to replace it. However, every time I stick this Radeon in the box the computer refuses to boot. I'm sure it's a kernel problem, but I'm not sure what that means other than that it isn't totally related to the actual Linux distribution. I've tried Ubuntu 6.06, Ubuntu 7.04, Fedora Core 5, Fedora 7, and Gentoo on this computer and every single time it has the same problem.

When I remove the radeon and let it use the built-in graphics card, it works fine.

I'm not sure what the problem is, I've searched around a lot. If anyone has any idea about how I could solve this problem, I'd be grateful.

And if you need more information (which you probably do), just ask.

Thanks!

ATI cards are notoriously buggy in Linux due to poorly written drivers from ATI. However, a relatively old card like a 7500 should be supported by the open-source Radeon drivers.

Can you give more details into what happens? Does the computer freeze completely or do you just get a blank screen? Did you disable your onboard chip in your BIOS before booting with the ATI card? Are you *positive* there isn't some sort of hardware damage to the ATI card itself?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Here's exactly what I do:
    1) Insert the radeon into a random PCI slot
    2) Turn on the computer