Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to the Linux world, though I have a little experience with the command line (and I had SuSe ver 8.2 installed looong ago). Here's my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question nVidia GeForce FX 5200 - NO GUI!!

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to the Linux world, though I have a little experience with the command line (and I had SuSe ver 8.2 installed looong ago).

Here's my problem. My home built PC has the Nvidia GeForce FX 5200 (128MB RAM, AGP) video card. I have tried installations with the following Linux distributions:

Fedora 6, Fedora 7, Ubuntu, SuSE 9.x (all 32 bit installs btw)

In EVERY install, it cannot launch x server to bring me to a GUI. The start up screens (when starting with a graphical install) always fail (look way out of whack, can't see the menu choices). This happens as you progress through the installations. The initial splash screens (like Ubuntu's with the install choices) looks fine. I've had them all install successfully with text install, but again no luck on a GUI.

I tried changing the driver under the Device selection in the xorg.conf file to nv (it was S3). No results... so I went to Nvidia:

I got the appropriate 32 bit driver package from nVidia found here:
    Linux Display Driver - x86
    I checked to ensure my card is on the supported driver list associated with this file. This file even helps set up one's xorg.conf file (as stated by Nvidia) for a noob like myself.

Ran the file, and I get this:

Warning: You do not appear to have an NVIDIA GPU supported by the 100.14.19 NVIDIA Linux Graphics driver installed in this system. For further details, please see the appendix SUPPORTED NVIDIA GRAPHICS CHIPS in the README available on the Linux driver download page at Welcome to NVIDIA - Graphics Cards, Motherboards, Notebooks, Desktop PCs