Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have a setup from my old office of 3 19" flat screen monitors. I would like to use this now in my home office which runs a linux box ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Support for Multiple Monitors

I have a setup from my old office of 3 19" flat screen monitors. I would like to use this now in my home office which runs a linux box and an XP laptop on a docking station. My goal is to have the XP laptop showing on one of the monitors and then to have the other two for my linux box.

I am running Debian Etch with the latest patches and kernel 2.6.18-6-686.

Dos Linux support multiple monitors easily? I am not a linux newbie, but I am not a techie either.

I did try to set it up last night but the first stumbling block that I ran into was that when I plugged one of the monitors into my linux box and then booted the machine, the display was only at 640x480 and I had no other options under KDE or xrandr. Now I know that the video card supports at least up to 1280x1024 because that is was it is running at now with my Dell monitor. The 3 monitor setup support at least up to 1900x?? as that is what I was using in my office under XP.

So the first question might be why am I losing resolution when I plug these monitors into my linux box and is there a way to fix it? I have checked my xconfig file in /etc/X11 and it shows my Dell Monitor and the correct resolutions, but nothing for the new monitors under devices. I am not sure how to check the logs to see what the system is recognizing for a monitor with the new ones plugged in. I did do a "dmesg" but I couldn't see anything in the output indicating monitors or resolution.

Any pointers at this point would be helpful.

Thanks,
    -Eric

what is your graphics card? post output of
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Driver

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the reply.

Here is the output of that comman: