Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi! I just installed Fedora 8 on my computer, and I have never used a Linux system before, so it would be nice if you could explain as if it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Creative live webcam VF-0050 driver

Hi!

I just installed Fedora 8 on my computer, and I have never used a Linux system before, so it would be nice if you could explain as if it where to you grandparents ^^

I have tried lots of ways to install a driver for my webcam (Creative live VF-0050), but nothing seems to work... What I've done:

I found a guide on how to install a webcam driver which said i had to install a program called V4L2-Tool. I did so, and this is what it says in the Isusb-window: Bus 002 Device 002: ID 041e:4036 Creative Technology, Ltd Webcam Live!/Live! Pro
    It also says that the best driver for the cam would be something called gspca, from the download link Index of /spca50x/Investigation/Gspca
    I tried to download this, but i didn't understand a word of it :S
    Another place it said that i could just write something in a terminal-window to install it, and it seems like that installed gspca, but still my webcam does not work in any program... (I use a program called Cheese to test it out, but it says "Unable to find a webcam, SORRY"...)

Help? =)

Just Joined!

Vf 0050

Hi, have you found a solution to your problem? We are also having trouble finding a driver for this webcam creative vf0050. I've lost the disc for the driver thinking i wouldn't need it again. I have searched and searched for a downloadable software on line to no avail - would be great if you could let me know if you have found a resulotion to your problem, thanks

Just Joined!
    Yes, i actually did, and forgot this thread...