Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi! First of all, let me say that I'm new in linux (yep... another one), and that english is not my natural language, so I may sound (or write...) a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Nothing works! (well... just a few things...)

Hi!
    First of all, let me say that I'm new in linux (yep... another one), and that english is not my natural language, so I may sound (or write...) a little weird...

So...

I downloaded and installed succesfully Mandrake Linux 10.0 a couple days ago... ¡I love it! It's really cool, but some of my devices are not working at all (sadly, the ones I must use very often). I have a Pentium 4 1.8 Ghz, 256 Ram, Nvidia Gforce fx 5200, LG dvd/cd/rw combo, Mpeg tv station bt878.

Ok, the problem is like this:
    -Nvidia appears not to be working, since I try to launch Tux race and nothing happens...
    -Lg dvd/cd/rw combo working fine, but I can't see my dvds, every time I try to play one with Mplayer or another program, it stops with an error message (sorry, I didn't write down the problem).
    -Mpge tv station bt878 (Kworld) not working at all, and worse: it don let me use my Canon Canoscan fb 330 p, every time I try to open a scanning program, the scanning device that appears is the ¡tv card!
    ¡Help!
    ¿What do I do?
    ¿How do I start?

For now, I'll start messing around with my computer (hope I don't s***w anything else...) if anybody can help me, I'll really appreciate it.

Thank's.

Linux User
    Do you have the official nvidia driver installed? Get it here http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux.html

Your other problems are hard to help unless you post the exact error.
    --monkey

Just Joined!

Nothing works

Thank's Monkey, I downloaded the drivers; expecting things to work with the Nvidia.

For the problems I have, I can´t be too especific, since the errors are vague...