Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I just bought a Keyboard with a builtin embedded trackball together with two buttons which act as the left and right mouse button. The keyboard connects to a USB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Builtin Keyboard Trackball button not recognized

Hi, I just bought a Keyboard with a builtin embedded trackball together with two buttons which act as the left and right mouse button. The keyboard connects to a USB infrared receiver. The manufacturer is a Chinese company Jing Mold.

The contraption works when I plug it into Windows XP.

In Linux, however, I can only get the pointer portion of the trackball to work but not the buttons. The keyboard also works perfectly.

I am a newbie when it comes to understanding how the kernel drivers and devices work over the various layers. I just do not know if I am looking at all the wrong places and some directions will help. I tried reading whatever I could get my hands on but got more lost.

From this point, I will just focus on the trackball portion.
    What I've managed to do are :
    - to have the devices recognized by the kernel : when connected, it shows up in dmesg and also in /proc/bus/input/devices
    - to use it in X by using the evdev driver pointing to the event input device.

The pointer works but not the buttons.

/proc/bus/input/devices shows it as having the event handler but something I noticed is that there are no KEYBITs. That is probably why the buttons did not come through. Are these capabilities reported by the USB device on hotplug or are they set by the kernel driver? (and if so, which one, usb, usb-hid, event, input, ...)? I have also tried looking at hal and udev but was not able to navigate through it.

PS I've also tried evtest on the device and the pointer events came through but not the button clicks.