Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm trying to install an EPSON Stylus Color 600 printer, but the parallel port (/dev/lp0) doens't seem to be recognized. I've tried using "Add Printer Wizard", but when I get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

/dev/lp0 not recognized

I'm trying to install an EPSON Stylus Color 600 printer, but the parallel port (/dev/lp0) doens't seem to be recognized. I've tried using "Add Printer Wizard", but when I get to "Local Port Selection", there's nothing under "Parallel". The commands "modprobe parport lp" and "/etc/init.d/cupsys restart" didn't seem to help. Also, the command "text.txt > /dev/lp0" returns the message "bash: /dev/lp0: No such device or address". Any thoughts on what may be happening? Just to let you know, I may be making a very stupid mistake, since I'm new at Linux.

Thanks for the help,
    Tiago

Linux Engineer
    sounds to me like you dont have parralell support compiled into your kernel. It may (hopefully) be an available module, what distro do you use and what kernel version (uname -a for kernel version) please also post the output of "lsmod". Do you have the kernel source installed?

Just Joined!

Any luck? (I"m on a thinkpad 770 and still no luck)

I'm on a thinkpad 770 with Fedora Core 2 and the parallel port simply isn't recognized as 'being there' even though it is.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    yes thats what would happen if your kernel did not have parralel support. please post the rest of the information i requested.

Just Joined!

specs...

Thinkpad 770
    Fedora Core 2
    2.6.7-1.494.2.2

[root@localhost root]# lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    aes 31361 1
    yenta_socket 15809 1
    superio 8840 0
    thinkpad 6660 1 superio
    snd_mixer_oss 14785 0
    snd 46885 1 snd_mixer_oss
    soundcore 7713 1 snd
    parport_pc 21248 0
    lp 9773 0
    parport 36361 2 parport_pc,lp
    autofs4 20933 0