Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I registered for Skype so I can see my grandkids but can't get it to load. Any solutions out there? Thanks, Brick...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Video Cam


    I registered for Skype so I can see my grandkids but can't get it to load. Any solutions out there?
    Thanks,
    Brick

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie Geeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Aus
    Posts
    176
    Try starting skype from the terminal.

    If there are any error messages post them
    ~~Geek Is Sexy~~
    Desktops - Ubuntu Hardy
    Server FreeBSD

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by Geeth View Post
    Try starting skype from the terminal.

    If there are any error messages post them
    I'm ignorant re: terminal. Is this the website? Thanks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie Geeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Aus
    Posts
    176
    Terminal, the command line.
    Where it's located will change on the distro that you are using.
    ~~Geek Is Sexy~~
    Desktops - Ubuntu Hardy
    Server FreeBSD

  6. #5
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    BrickG: Can you tell us what distribution of linux you're using?

    We'll try to talk you through getting skype working.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    I just registered. Do I need to download something? Thanks!

  8. #7
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    I moved this thread to the Peripherals forum since that seemed more appropriate.

    BrickG: We need you to answer any questions we ask you as precisely as possible.

    What distribution of linux are you using? Fedora? Suse? Ubuntu? PCLinuxOS?
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    Do I need to download something?

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    I looked on my programs and don't have any of those.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Are you using Linux or Windows?
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •