Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings. I am new to linux and am interesting in switching over from Windows XP. I would like to see if my hardware is supported or not before I install. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux newbie - hardware check

Greetings. I am new to linux and am interesting in switching over from Windows XP. I would like to see if my hardware is supported or not before I install.

I have:

ATI Raedon 9600 256MB AGP
    Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
    HP Photosmart 1115 printer

Will these work in linux? How easy would installing the drivers be for a beginner? I wish to switch over while my family is on vacation and get everything working - a functional printer and soundcard are more important to me at this point than 3D graphics. If printer is down or the sound doesnt work, the family will be complaining

Thanks!

Just Joined!
    according to: http://www.linuxquestions.org/hcl/sh...hp?product=720

the audigy 2 Z6 works in linux using ALSA - what is this & how do you utitilize it?

Just Joined!
    bionnaki,

You should be fine with the list as long as you keep your requirement to the basic - screen shows up something neat, sound/music come out of your stereo speaker. GL (3D graphic), 6 channel audio would be a bit tricky. I am not familiar with printer but I am pretty sure as long as you stick to Hp, you'll get some sort of generic driver than prints with postscript.

Be careful what Linux distribution you choose, make sure it supports lastest driver that includes ATI "radeon" driver with the XFree86 or X.org subsystem.

The sound system you should should be fine, "alsa" supports all types of SB cards starting from Live! 5.1 upward.

Cheers,
    DWX

Just Joined!