Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
hi Every one plsssssss help. We installed linux es 4 on IBM x 346 server with view sonic monitor,now we moved the server to IBM Rack ,but now every time ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    [SOLVED] Resulation probelm


    hi Every one plsssssss help.

    We installed linux es 4 on IBM x 346 server with view sonic monitor,now we moved the server to IBM Rack ,but now every time we physically retart the server the display is not coming so we are connecting the same monitor after restart again we shifting to the rack monitor plssssss help

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    Execute this

    Code:
    su -
    lspci | grep -i vga
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    Resulation probe

    [QUOTE=devils casper;665812]Hi and Welcome !

    Execute this

    [code]
    su -
    lspci | grep -i vga
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    after applying the code
    Result

    VGS Compatibale Controller:ATI technoligies Inc Radeon Rv 100 QY [Radeon 700]

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Its a Graphics Card problem. You have to install ATI proprietary driver.
    First of all, try "vesa" driver.

    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Add Driver "vesa" in Video Card section.
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Card"
    	Driver		"vesa"
    EndSection
    Press Ctrl+X, Y and hit Enter key to save file.

    Reboot machine.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Its a Graphics Card problem. You have to install ATI proprietary driver.
    First of all, try "vesa" driver.

    Execute this
    Code:
    su -
    nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Add Driver "vesa" in Video Card section.
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Configured Video Card"
    	Driver		"vesa"
    EndSection
    Press Ctrl+X, Y and hit Enter key to save file.

    Reboot machine.



    I checked but the result is this

    [root@titan root]# cd /etc/X11
    [root@titan X11]# ls
    applnk proxymngr xdm Xmodmap
    desktop-menus serverconfig XF86Config Xresources
    fs starthere XF86Config.backup xserver
    gdm sysconfig XftConfig.README-OBSOLETE xsm
    lbxproxy twm xinit
    prefdm X xkb
    [root@titan X11]# cd /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    -bash: cd: /etc/X11/xorg.conf: No such file or directory
    [root@titan X11]#

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the output of this
    Code:
    uname -a
    cat /etc/issue
    cat /etc/*version*
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Post the output of this
    Code:
    uname -a
    cat /etc/issue
    cat /etc/*version*
    Dear Sir / madam

    Thanks for your kind help

    the result is


    Last login: Sun Feb 8 15:20:23 2009 from 192.168.5.110
    xhost: unable to open display ""
    [root@titan root]#
    [root@titan root]# uname -a
    Linux titan.gulfdrug.com 2.4.21-32.ELsmp #1 SMP Fri Apr 15 21:17:59 EDT 2005 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
    [root@titan root]#
    [root@titan root]#
    [root@titan root]# cat /etc/issue
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux AS release 3 (Taroon Update 5)
    Kernel \r on an \m
    - Hide quoted text -

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    You are using a very old version of RHEL. Is there any reason for using it only? Security and software updates are not available for this version.

    In case you want to use it only, post the contents of /etc/X11/XF86Config file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    You are using a very old version of RHEL. Is there any reason for using it only? Security and software updates are not available for this version.

    In case you want to use it only, post the contents of /etc/X11/XF86Config file here.

    Thanks Sir for your kind help the
    result is

    [root@atlas X11]# cat XF86Config
    # XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"

    # RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
    # file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
    # no need to change the default.
    # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
    # By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
    # the X server to render fonts.
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath "unix/:7100"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "fbdevhw"
    Load "glx"
    Load "record"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "type1"
    Load "dri"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
    # Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
    # To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
    # Option "XkbDisable"
    # To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
    # lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
    # keyboard, you will probably want to use:
    # Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
    # If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
    # Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
    #
    # Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
    # For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
    # Option "XkbLayout" "de"
    # or:
    # Option "XkbLayout" "de"
    # Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
    #
    # If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
    # control keys, use:
    # Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
    # Or if you just want both to be control, use:
    # Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
    #
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "keyboard"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
    # this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
    # also use USB mice at the same time.
    Identifier "DevInputMice"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName "E70-11"
    DisplaySize 320 240
    HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
    Option "dpms"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "radeon"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "ATI Radeon 7000"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Group 0
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    [root@atlas X11]#

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Edit Video Card section and replace "radeon" with "vesa".

    Code:
    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "vesa"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "ATI Radeon 7000"
    EndSection
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •