Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys. My first post here. I just installed Linux, Kubuntu 8.04, for the first time the other day on my PC, 2GHz with 1GB ram. It has shared memory ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which PCI video card has the best Linux support?

Hey guys.
    My first post here. I just installed Linux, Kubuntu 8.04, for the first time the other day on my PC, 2GHz with 1GB ram. It has shared memory so I want to get a dedicated video card to save more ram. And it would also be nice to have more video memory for some cool effects.

I have to use a PCI card for graphics, so what cards are the best for linux? I've read that some cards weren't supported very well, or didn't have good drivers.

Any suggestions would be great.
    Thanks.

This link might help.

Video cards
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!
    I found an ATI Radeon 9200 on eBay, ATI Radeon 9200 128MB PCI Video Card TV-Out VGA DVI NEW - (eBay.ca item 120376495158 end time 13-Mar-09 01:00:00 EDT)

Do you guys think this would be a decent card to run linux off of? All I want is to be able to see a nice screen saver without it getting all glitchy.

Thanks.

the best support on linux comes from intel or nvidia graphics cards currently, that is an older ATI card, it is unlikely to have 3d support to enable the fancy effects

you're just about better off to stick with your integrated and add more system memory, what kind of graphics do you currently have?

edit:
    I should also add, that 1gb system memory is more than enough for any modern distro, even with shared memory for graphics

Just Joined!
    Hey. I just got a video card off eBay, it's a EVGA E-Geforce 6200.

The specs are:
    64-bit bus
    256MB RAM
    300MHz processor speed
    Pipelines 4