Find the answer to your Linux question:
I posted a similar thread on the Vector Linux (the OS I was trying to install when I came across this issue) forums, but they haven't been much help thus ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partition trouble

I posted a similar thread on the Vector Linux (the OS I was trying to install when I came across this issue) forums, but they haven't been much help thus far. I thought I'd try my luck here.

I'm a bit new to Linux. The last time I tried anything was about a year and a half ago. I successfully installed Arch with the help of a friend. That laptop died, and since then, I've been Linuxless.

I'm currently dealing with a Compaq Presario 1236. AMD K6 @ 233mhz, 190Mb of RAM, 4Gig HDD. This is the oldest computer I've ever used, and it's been giving me a pretty hard time. Being unfamiliar with Linux doesn't help much.

I popped the VL Light 5.9 disc in, got to the second menu of the installation, and decided to have a go at partitioning the drive to get started. My problem is.. Cfdisk and fdisk aren't cooperating with the hard drive. It wouldn't let me choose an option to partition the drive. I tried opting for a new partition table, that didn't work. I chose the option for the existing partition table, and that didn't work. The screen just flashes once, quickly. There's no response. I took out the installation CD, popped in Knoppix, and used Gparted to partition the drive. It seemed to work fine. I wiped it completely, set aside space for swap and root. There were no issues, and the commands went through (so it seemed). I went back to VL, and the same **** occurred. On both Knoppix and the VL installation, I receive errors for Cfdisk and fdisk. Fdisk is "unable to open the drive," and Cfdisk encounters a fatal error.