Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
Look at the output of my lspci -nn as compared to the one you posted. Did you leave any part out of the results that you got on your machine?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Look at the output of my lspci -nn as compared to the one you posted. Did you leave any part out of the results that you got on your machine?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    23
    Dear sir,
    I havent edited, and I dont know how to edit. Outputs are not same. Please guide me fully...
    Later..
    Ram

  3. #13
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I just thought of something... do you have the latest alsa installed?
    Code:
    rpm -qa alsa*
    Post output here. And I believe the audio device is most likely the Intel chip.
    Do you get any errors if you execute
    Code:
    modprobe snd-hda-intel
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    23
    I have already installed latest version...

    out put is as follows:

    [root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa alsa*
    alsa-utils-1.0.17-1.el5
    alsa-lib-1.0.17-1.el5
    alsa-lib-devel-1.0.17-1.el5
    [root@localhost ~]# modprobe snd-hda-intel
    WARNING: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.18-128.el5xen/kernel/sound/core/snd.ko': No such file or directory
    WARNING: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.18-128.el5xen/kernel/sound/core/snd-hwdep.ko': No such file or directory
    WARNING: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.18-128.el5xen/kernel/sound/core/snd-page-alloc.ko': No such file or directory
    WARNING: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.18-128.el5xen/kernel/sound/core/snd-timer.ko': No such file or directory
    WARNING: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.18-128.el5xen/kernel/sound/core/snd-pcm.ko': No such file or directory
    FATAL: Could not open '/lib/modules/2.6.18-128.el5xen/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko': No such file or directory

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    23
    i have downloaded newer version but whenevner i run make command it shows errors in last. there is no error in ./configure run. Errors are ( I paste only final some lines here):

    copying file alsa-kernel/usb/usx2y/usx2yhwdeppcm.c
    patching file usx2yhwdeppcm.c
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/usb/usx2y'
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/usb'
    make[2]: Entering directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/pcmcia'
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/pcmcia/pdaudiocf'
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/pcmcia/pdaudiocf'
    make[3]: Entering directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/pcmcia/vx'
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/pcmcia/vx'
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/pcmcia'
    make[2]: Entering directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/misc'
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/misc'
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20'
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.18-128.el5xen/source SUBDIRS=/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20 CPP="gcc -E" CC="gcc" modules
    make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.18-128.el5-xen-i686'
    CC [M] /home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/acore/hwdep.o
    In file included from /home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/acore/hwdep.c:1:
    /home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/include/adriver.h:1781: error: redefinition of typedef ‘bool’
    include/linux/types.h:36: error: previous declaration of ‘bool’ was here
    make[3]: *** [/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/acore/hwdep.o] Error 1
    make[2]: *** [/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20/acore] Error 2
    make[1]: *** [_module_/home/ram/Desktop/alsa-driver-1.0.20] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.18-128.el5-xen-i686'
    make: *** [compile] Error 2

  7. #16
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I have to admit that I'm a little stumped on this. I'm going to keep looking up on it, but maybe somebody with some new ideas will come along.

    Do you get any output if you execute
    Code:
    alsaunmute
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    23
    [root@localhost ram]# alsaunmute
    Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC662 rev1" "HDA:10ec0662" "" ""
    Hardware is initialized using a guess method

  9. #18
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by raguelmoon View Post
    [root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa alsa*
    alsa-utils-1.0.17-1.el5
    alsa-lib-1.0.17-1.el5
    alsa-lib-devel-1.0.17-1.el5
    [root@localhost ram]# alsaunmute
    Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Realtek ALC662 rev1" "HDA:10ec0662" "" ""
    Hardware is initialized using a guess method
    Okay... so it's a realtek card, which is fine... I have a realtek card that works fine. But I don't actually see pulseaduio in your alsa output. Perhaps you should install the pulseaudio plug-in, which can be found here: Fedora Project
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    23
    Hi,
    when I install pulsaudio plugin I get error:
    Can't install /tmp/pulseaudio-0.9.10-1.fc9.i386.rpm
    I am using fedora 10.
    Plz guide me...
    Later
    Ram

  11. #20
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Did you install Fedora after starting the thread?
    Quote Originally Posted by raguelmoon View Post
    I have installed Red Hat Enterprise 5.3.
    Which distro are you currently trying to get sound on?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •