Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hi, i havent posted in a while, but i ran into a problem recently bought a new Western Digital HD for my ppc g5 (WD3200AAKS, 300GB) when i examine it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5

    Western Digital HD


    hi, i havent posted in a while, but i ran into a problem recently
    bought a new Western Digital HD for my ppc g5 (WD3200AAKS, 300GB)
    when i examine it with disk utility (mac) it recognizes it and lists under "Connection ID"

    Device 0, "B (lower)"

    however, it doesnt show up as hdb
    i tried to install gentoo but it simply doesnt recognize the hard drive
    it sees hda
    but under /dev theres no such thing listed as hdb
    i tried mac-fdisk /dev/hdb
    but it complained that there was no such thing as hdb
    under disk utility i tried erasing it, partitioning it, etc.
    no avail

    any ideas?
    if you havent noticed, im not really a hardware genius, so im rather lost as to why mac seems to deal fine with the hd although it theoretically doesnt exist under /dev
    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    Welcome to the forums!

    mac-fdisk -l

    This will list all hard drives available to Linux kernel.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    5
    Thanks, got it lol
    It was listed under sdb
    Although I can't think of a reason why it would be. Anyways, thanks, i finished the installation.....and now its severely broken lol, I'll return in another thread haha....
    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    8
    WorldWideOliver, does it say anywhere on the package that it's a SCSI disk?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    To my knowledge all IDE, SCSI and SATA drives are now treated the same. There was a merge to one of the drivers a few years back and every drive is reported as sd? now.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    877
    Correct, using new libata to access IDE drives results in sd? devices. One can still have hd? devices by using old EIDE interface in kernel configuration.
    WD3200AAKS is SATA, BTW.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •