Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone: This is my first time in here and for me Linux is really a new experience. I have a few questions ( actually a lot of questions but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Finding a second hard drive:

Hello everyone: This is my first time in here and for me Linux is really a new experience. I have a few questions ( actually a lot of questions but will ask two for now) and hope I am not out of order asking them in one post. My first question is I have 2 hard drivers in my computer a Master and a Slave and in Windows I know how to fine them but in Linux I am lost and could anyone tell me how to find the second drive if it can be done? Second, I just installed a Cannon Scanner and would like to know if I have to install any software or drivers to make it work? Thank You for any help and everyone have a great day. Bye Don

Hello donnor1 and welcome to Linux

What distribution of Linux did you choose? Have you installed it yet or are you running from the Live CD?
    Linux User #453176

Just Joined!
    Hello Kieren and how are you doing? I have installed Xbuntu as my only Operating System and I know is when I downloaded it it was just called Xbuntu, not sure what version. I hope this aswswers your question and if not how do I fine out actually what version I am using? Again Thank You. Don.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I'm good thanks. Your second hard drive should be mounted already but let's check to make sure. What is the output of:

Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Linux User #453176

Linux User
    When you are booting the computer, it should show something like this:
    title Ubuntu 8.04.3 LTS, kernel 2.6.24-24-generic (recovery mode)
    root (hd0,1)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-24-generic root=UUID=de57233b-b6d5-42bc-b61b-0c1584f6a131 ro single
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-24-generic

title Ubuntu 8.04.3 LTS, kernel 2.6.24-23-generic