Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Hi! I've just recently purchased a new external hardrive to file away about 100GB of video and mp3 files, but I can't get it to mount on my Linux OS. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9

    Fujitsu external hardrive wont mount on Linux Mint Gloria


    Hi!

    I've just recently purchased a new external hardrive to file away about 100GB of video and mp3 files, but I can't get it to mount on my Linux OS.

    Can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,737
    How are you trying to mount it? And what file system is installed on it? A lot of these large external drives these days are configured with NTFS to work with Windows, or else they are formatted with FAT32 file systems. NTFS drives will not automount on Linux - you will need to mount it manually.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9
    Hi there! (sorry it's taken so long to reply, everything has been breaking on me D: )

    I've been trying to mount it using the terminal. I've found numerous help topics on the subject but nothing seems to work. It's an NTFS drive, and I have been trying to mount it manually.

    Anything you could suggest to help me would be awesome.

    Thanks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,737
    Depending upon the distribution+version of Linux you are running, you might need to install the 3g-ntfs file system support. Look for /sbin/mount.ntfs-3g or /usr/bin/ntfs-3g - on my system /sbin/mount.ntfs-3g is a link to /usr/bin/ntfs-3g.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9
    I tried typing that in to Terminal but it wasn't working. It says:

    ntfs-3g: No device is specified.
    Please type '/sbin/mount.ntfs-3g --help' for more information.

    then I used then help option and it says:

    ntfs-3g 1.2506 external FUSE 27 - Third Generation NTFS Driver

    Copyright (C) 2006-2008 Szabolcs Szakacsits
    Copyright (C) 2005-2007 Yura Pakhuchiy

    Usage: ntfs-3g <device|image_file> <mount_point> [-o option[,...]]

    Options: ro (read-only mount), force, remove_hiberfile, locale=,
    uid=, gid=, umask=, fmask=, dmask=, streams_interface=,
    syncio.
    Please see the details in the manual.

    Example: ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/win -o force



    I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Linux :C

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,737
    This means that you have ntfs-3g installed on your system - goodness so far. I will give you the steps you need to take to get this mounted on your system, but first I need to know if you will want to use this drive with Windows, or is it going to be Linux only? If Linux only then we will first reformat it with an ext3 file system. If you are going to want to access the data you store on it from a Windows system as well, then we'll keep the NTFS file system.

    But first, I need to know what the output from "fdisk -l" is. You need to execute this as root.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9

    Smile

    Riiiiiight!

    So I did that fdisk -l thing, and this came up:

    Cannot open /dev/sda
    Cannot open /dev/sdb

    I'm assuming I didn't do it as root, but I have no idea how to do that.

    Also, I will be using this external HDD primarily with a Windows OS.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,737
    Ok. So we still need to get the information from fdisk, but we won't be reformatting the drive. What distribution+version of Linux are you using - such as Fedora Core 11 (FC11), Ubuntu 9.04, etc? Also, do you know how to log in as root?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    9
    I'm using Linux Mint 6 Felicia - Main Edition, if I'm not mistaken. And no, I don't know how to log in as root. I thought I was always logged in as root because I'm the only user. D:

  11. #10
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,737
    One presumes that you do have a user name + password to login with?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •