Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone, I am getting a new Dell Studio Desktop shipped to me on Thursday and I want to order a video card that will work with most Linux distros...especially ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need Help Selecting Video Card for Linux

Hello everyone,

I am getting a new Dell Studio Desktop shipped to me on Thursday and I want to order a video card that will work with most Linux distros...especially Ubuntu/Linux Mint.

I have read all over that Nvidia cards are the way to go for out-of-the-box support. I am looking for 512MB-1GB (probably leaning more toward 1GB...I would like to play fallout 3 on my Windows partition). I am planning on playing 3-D first person shooters on the Linux side (Alien Arena, etc.)

Any links to Newegg/Tigerdirect are more than welcome. Thanks!!!

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

I've been using nvidia cards for the last 9 years under Linux and have never considered switching. You should be fine with just about any model that's available. You can check the nvidia website to see if a model that you like has Linux drivers. The latest drivers cover these cards:

NVIDIA DRIVERS 190.42 Certified

Check the Supported Products tab.
    Last edited by oz; 11-01-2009 at 04:13 PM.
    oz

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by ozar View Post
    Welcome to the forums!

I've been using nvidia cards for the last 9 years under Linux and have never considered switching. You should be fine with just about any model that's available. You can check the nvidia website to see if a model that you like has Linux drivers.
    Thanks for the help. I will do just that. However, I noticed that different companies make Nvidia cards. Do all the cards have the same drivers?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by oceanfirehawk View Post