Find the answer to your Linux question:
hey guys as my name says im very new to Linux and have tried 3 different ones on my old laptop with no success. (Toshiba equium a110-233 made in 2006) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Best Linux for my old laptop!?

hey guys as my name says im very new to Linux and have tried 3 different ones on my old laptop with no success. (Toshiba equium a110-233 made in 2006)
    i was wondering if anyone knows of a Linux which will be supported as i really like the look and feel of Linux!
    thanks very much, Ryan

From what I have read on google. The only recent distros I saw installed on your model was Debian and Ubuntu 8.04 LTS.

You might give the new Puppy Linux a whirl running as a Live CD session also.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Quote Originally Posted by rokytnji View Post
    From what I have read on google. The only recent distros I saw installed on your model was Debian and Ubuntu 8.04 LTS.

You might give the new Puppy Linux a whirl running as a Live CD session also.
    thanks very much for the reply my friend, i will give it a try

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    When you say "no success", can you be more specific? It would be helpful to know which distros you tried and what specifically went wrong.

If you are new to the linux world try Ubuntu desktop edition.
    If you wanna learn how linux ticks install Gentoo, but do it the old fasion way, it will take you a day but it will be worth it, it's a good learning experience.

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!