Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm starting the process of purchasing parts for a desktop. My target price range is $300-$400. I want to be able to comfortably run a modern linux-based operating system, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Advice for Building an Affordable Desktop

I'm starting the process of purchasing parts for a desktop. My target price range is $300-$400. I want to be able to comfortably run a modern linux-based operating system, but do not necessarily need an advanced system. It will be used for internet (including videos on hulu.com), office related tasks, and some light editing of standard definition mpeg4 video. I'd like some room to potentially do upgrades and updates in the future. I'm looking for any kind of suggestions or advice that might be helpful, because I've never done anything like this before.

Here are the parts and approximate prices that I've found so far, shopping primarily on pricegrabber.com. Again, feel free to comment on anything.

• Intel DG41TY motherboard - $70 (X4500 GPU, G41 chipset)
    • Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz E4600 - Already in possession
    • Cooler Master Elite 330 Mid Tower - $50
    • Antec BP350 350 Watts Power Supply - $35
    • Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB HDD - $50
    • Corsair 2 x 2GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM - $100
    • LG GH22NP20 Dual Layer DVD±RW Writer - $40

The prices add up to about $350, which works for me.

A couple questions off the bat... the motherboard is a micro-ATX, and the case and power supply are advertised for ATX. Is this a problem, or are they interchangeable in this way?