Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
I have a Dell 2400 (p4 2.2 with 640mg) that I ran Ubuntu 8.04 for almost a year on. Last month I switched to Xubuntu 9.10 and ran fine for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    10

    Dell can't run Linux anymore?


    I have a Dell 2400 (p4 2.2 with 640mg) that I ran Ubuntu 8.04 for almost a year on.
    Last month I switched to Xubuntu 9.10 and ran fine for a couple of weeks.

    Then one day I down loaded a game(Openarena). The first time I tried to run it I got a black screen.

    I have not been able to boot into any Ubuntu since. Some times it will run live in safe video mode.

    Tried some other distros but anything big enough to run as my main desktop won't run.

    I had desided that my on board graphics had gone bad and was about to throw the whole tower in the trash.

    Then I did the unthinkable.

    I loaded XP and it runs fine.

    Please help! I am stuck in the windows.

    PS The Ubuntu forum guys couldn't figure it out.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Can you link your thread from the Ubuntu Forum so we can see what you have tried so far?
    Linux User #453176

  3. #3
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Dell can't run Linux anymore?
    Welcome to the forums!

    It sounds like the installation of the game or some system update must have broken something rather than Dell boxes can no longer run Linux.

    You said you tried several other distros, so just curious... did you also try another fresh install of Xubuntu but without the game, and it was still broken?
    oz

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    10
    http ://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1375781
    (remove space after "http". this sight won't let me post url yet)

    I just meant that this Dell won't anymore.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Judging from your post on the UbuntuForums site, you have an Intel integrated graphics card on that computer. Recent versions of Linux (not just Ubuntu specifically) have issues with Intel cards due to a problem with the driver. You might want to stick with 8.04 for now until the next LTS comes out (should be in April of this year), or they release a patch for it.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #6
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Karmic uses KMS by default for Intel cards, right?

    I would try disabling it. Should be able to by passing nomodeset to the kernel boot line.

    Permanently disable as so
    9.10 Release Notes | Ubuntu

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    10
    8.04 won't run anymore.

    It really has me baffled.
    I grew up around computers and thought I new how they worked.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by PartsMan View Post
    8.04 won't run anymore.
    Can you be more specific? Does it refuse to boot, or not show a desktop? Does it show a desktop on the LiveCD and not when installed? We need details.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe View Post
    Can you be more specific? Does it refuse to boot, or not show a desktop? Does it show a desktop on the LiveCD and not when installed? We need details.
    It will boot live in safe graphics mode.
    In regular live mode or fresh install it will not make it to the desktop.

    What does safe graphics shut off?
    Can it be disabled on install?

    I would be happy with bad graphics.

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Quote Originally Posted by PartsMan View Post
    In regular live mode or fresh install it will not make it to the desktop.
    You need to give us more information. Does the screen go blank? Does the boot up process freeze? Do you get an error message?
    Linux User #453176

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •