Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hello, I really can't mount my partitions as an normal user. I added umask and users option. When I mount a partition i get no errors, but the directory is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21

    What is wrong with my fstab


    Hello,

    I really can't mount my partitions as an normal user.
    I added umask and users option.

    When I mount a partition i get no errors, but the directory is empty.
    I umounted first.

    Could somebody tell me a solution?

    Here is my fstab:

    Code:
    #
    # /etc/fstab
    # Created by anaconda on Sat Jan 30 18:30:30 2010
    #
    # Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
    # See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
    #
    UUID=90eaae24-52cc-4475-98d1-415ee915f9c2 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
    UUID=29b98ad2-2357-4cce-822c-668de4a449bd swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
    tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
    devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
    sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
    proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
    /dev/sda1               /mnt/vista              ntfs    ro,noauto,users,exec,umask=0222         0 0
    /dev/sda5               /mnt/vistadata          ntfs    ro,noauto,users,exec,umask=0222         0 0
    /dev/sda2               /mnt/hptools            fat32   ro,noauto                               0 0
    /dev/sda6               /mnt/fatRW              fat32   rw,noauto,users,exec,umask=0000         0 0
    /dev/sdb1               /mnt/externeRO          ntfs    ro,noauto,users,exec,umask=0222         0 0

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Malibu, California
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Bernouilli View Post
    I really can't mount my partitions as an normal user.
    I added umask and users option.

    When I mount a partition i get no errors, but the directory is empty. . . .

    I'll be making my fstab config change (just to stop automatic filesystem check)
    for a "jerry-rig" USB Ubuntu9.04 full install OS again in a bit . . .
    it is all to run on a broken laptop to rescue files . . .
    I need to mount the primary partition with XP OS that crashed . . .
    the extended logical partition without OS can mount - primary partition can NOT.

    Anyhoo . . . I'll definitely be interested in this thread . . .
    and from my perspective at least, wonder and first ask . . .

    what fstype are you trying to mount (the one with "no directory") ?

    How are you mounting (trying to mount I mean) with that fstype type -t option . . . ?
    (I am reading about some ways to maybe try for that -t option with "sick" partitions like my laptop).

    And, I'd compare how parted and, say, sfdisk -l see that fstype -
    as in my particular case - running a laptop off a USB OS looking at a broken hard drive -
    parted and sfdisk see the filesystem type different -
    and I'll be experimenting with the mount -t <filetype> a bit.

    I do know parted utility may be able to "fix" a partition filesystem . . . well at least it can resize.

    So maybe fstab is the wrong tree to be barking up ? . . . I dunno.
    I do hope this stirs some useful ideas to start troubleshooting anyhow.
    Last edited by jenaniston; 01-31-2010 at 04:23 PM. Reason: spellin'

  3. #3
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Can ypu post the commands that you used please? And the output of these commands.
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Code:
    mount
    Code:
    ls /mnt
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Malibu, California
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Bernouilli View Post
    . . . I mount a partition . . . the directory is empty.

    Code:
    #
    # /etc/fstab
    
    # Accessible filesystems . . .
    /dev/sda1               /mnt/vista              ntfs    ro,noauto,users,exec,umask=0222         0 0
    /dev/sda5               /mnt/vistadata          ntfs    ro,noauto,users,exec,umask=0222         0 0
    /dev/sda2               /mnt/hptools            fat32   ro,noauto                               0 0
    /dev/sda6               /mnt/fatRW              fat32   rw,noauto,users,exec,umask=0000         0 0
    /dev/sdb1               /mnt/externeRO          ntfs    ro,noauto,users,exec,umask=0222         0 0
    Just as further food for thought - and most all of us and you may recognize already -
    we really mount filesystems.

    This is most obvious when a filesystem of a live version of an operating systems gets mounted . . .
    it is apart from the actual partition (CD or USB typically) the files may actual be on.

    Since the filesystems are listed in your fstab . . . I am pretty sure you'll be in good enough shape.

    Good luck.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    Below you see the order of commands I use.
    At the end there is the output of the fdisk -l command.

    As you see, I first mount as user, nothing happens.
    Then I mount as root, and it's ok.

    Code:
    [Matthias@laptopmatthias mnt]$ ls
    boot  externeRO  externeRW  fatRW  hptools  vista  vistadata
    [Matthias@laptopmatthias mnt]$ mount /mnt/vistadata/
    [Matthias@laptopmatthias mnt]$ ls vistadata/
    [Matthias@laptopmatthias mnt]$ su
    Password: 
    [root@laptopmatthias mnt]# mount vistadata/
    [root@laptopmatthias mnt]# ls vista
    vista/     vistadata/ 
    [root@laptopmatthias mnt]# ls vistadata/
    Boeken             My Sharing Folders.lnk  System Volume Information
    desktop.ini        NetBeansProjects        The KMPlayer
    Downloads          Remote Assistance Logs  Visual Studio 2008
    LAN                School
    My Received Files  stuff
    [root@laptopmatthias mnt]# fdisk -l
    
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xca0aca0a
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1               1       14023   112639716    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2           38783       38913     1052257+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda3           14024       25120    89136652+   5  Extended
    /dev/sda4   *       25121       38782   109740015   83  Linux
    /dev/sda5           14024       23202    73730286    7  HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6           23203       24604    11261533+   b  W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda7           24605       25120     4144738+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    [root@laptopmatthias mnt]#

  7. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    In /etc/fstab, try changing users to user, see if that helps.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    nope doesn't work

  9. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    What happens if you try to mount it this way?
    Code:
    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda5 /mnt/vistadata -o defaults,umask=0
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    When I do that, I get error: only root can use mount.

    It would be really nice if a normal user could do this, because
    this laptop is used for more then 1 person.

    I think we need to search for another solution:

    When I do mount /mnt/vistadata as root: than it's works fine.
    So I think we can conclude that de fstab is mostly correct.

    But as normal user, nothing happens, it must be one of the options?
    I tried, users, user, umask,dmaks,fmask.

    Do I have to set perimissions on the /mnt/vistadata too?

    Edit: the ntfs partitions only have to be read only, so it's type ntfs right?

  11. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Yes, only root can issue that command, but the permissions will be for everyone to read and write, which you can change to read only if you want.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •