Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Linux newbie here. Searched on google but couldn't find any explanation. Just wondering what the difference is between the official NVidia installer and kmod-nvidia? Does either have features the other ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Nvidia installer versus kmod?

Linux newbie here. Searched on google but couldn't find any explanation. Just wondering what the difference is between the official NVidia installer and kmod-nvidia? Does either have features the other does not or is there any reason to choose one over the other? Thanks ahead of time!

Just Joined!
    I can't post the link to the original article, but this sums it up

There are 2 common ways of installing a driver for Nvidia hardware. Both methods will work and install the driver, however each has advantages and disadvantages.

Nvidia.com Binary Installer

Using the installer from Nvidia will try to compile a driver for your specific Linux distribution and install it. It will also modify any configuration files required to load. The only requirements for the installer are the necessary kernel files (usually kernel headers and the gcc compiler). This installer is only available through the Nvidia website and has the filename in the form of: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-XYZ.AB.pkg1.run.

The advantage of this method is that it can be run in almost any version or distribution and can be installed for custom kernels. It is usually immediately available.