Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I have a quick question about ext4. How stable is it? I ask because I heard that ext4 is new and it hasn't really been proven in the field. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Ext4

Hi,

I have a quick question about ext4. How stable is it? I ask because I heard that ext4 is new and it hasn't really been proven in the field. So is it stable?
    Make mine Arch Linux

Linux User
    I have no real experience with ext4 and what I saw some time ago about data loss/file content corruption/frozen systems made me keep clear of it.

This wiki page (Ext4) won't help for its adoption. It seems that the potential data loss problem lies in its very design and concepts.

It is worth noting that many distros select ext4 as first choice when creating partitions.
    0 + 1 = 1 != 2 <> 3 != 4 ...
    Until the camel can pass though the eye of the needle.

oz
    forum.guy
    According to the ext4 wiki it's stable and safe to use in production environments:

Ext4 was released as a functionally complete and stable filesystem in Linux 2.6.28
    It's safe to use it in production environments, but as any piece of software, it has bugs (which are more likely to be hit in the first stable versions).
    I'm not sure that you can count on the wiki statements being 100% accurate for your own situation, however.

For me, I've decided to wait a while longer before implementing it, mostly because I have no complaints whatsoever with ext3. It has served me well for many years and I've not found a compelling reason to change. Still, I might move to ext4 within the next year, or so, especially if ext3 starts to appear that it's becoming obsolete.
    oz

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    FWIW, I've been using ext4 since it first went into the mainline kernel without trouble.

Thank-you for the replies.