Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Hello all! I just built a new box for myself with 1 GB of ram, and AMD 64 3400+ cpu, and ABIT mobo, etc. My problem is that I can't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    61

    My new box... no boot!


    Hello all! I just built a new box for myself with 1 GB of ram, and AMD 64 3400+ cpu, and ABIT mobo, etc. My problem is that I can't get it to boot! I've fooled around in the bios for hours, and I'm getting sick of it. I've checked the MBR of my hard drive, and LILO is definately functional. I'm at my wit's end trying to figure out what's wrong!
    When I turn my new box on, the bios does its thing for a while, then it gets to the part where its supposed to boot from the HD. It just hangs there for like, 30 seconds, then it says
    Booting from CD...
    PLEASE INSERT A SYSTEM DISC AND HIT ENTER TO CONTINUE.
    Does anyone have any idea of what might be going on here? Thanks so much.

    p.s. First person to fix it gets a lollipop!

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I'm not the best Bios man in the world, and this may be a bit too obvious, but have you tried changing the boot order so your hard drive is the first boot device?

    Check your boot order and make sure hard drive, CDrom and floppy are all there. If CDrom is the only one listed, your bios won't know where to go after CDrom.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    61
    Yes, my HD is first, followed by my floppy, and CD-RW/DVD.

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Ewwww! Then I'm out of ideas...

    Is it possible your Hard Drive's cable is on backwards? I've done this...

    If floppy is set as second boot device, will it start reading a floppy after trying to boot from your hard drive?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    61
    Cables on correctly. It does check the floppy before going on to the CD-ROM, but it doesn't actually show any messages like the CD-ROM.

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I don't suppose you created a boot floppy for you distro? If so, and it then finds your OS, that would eliminate a bad HD as the problem. Are you getting any error messeges, or any messeges at all for that matter when it tries to boot HD or does it go right past it?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  7. #7
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340
    Eeeeeeekkkkkk, the Idea of an HD FIRRST in BIOS start-up order scares me, I had to fix that on my computer so I could boot mandrakemove it pissed me off, oh well, 'nuff personal stuff. Yeah I would agree, copy the boot image for your distor, well WRITE it I guess, to a disk and see what happens from there.
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    61
    No error messages are shown. It just skips right past the HD and goes on to the optical drive. I have indeed been able to boot from the HD using a boot floppy/CD. (LILO and GRUB.) In fact, I'm playing frozen bubble right now! So, is this a sign of a bad hard drive?

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Is there a bootable partition on your hard drive?

    <clutches at straws>
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    61
    Here's my boot partition info. (Device Size Filesystem Mount Start End)
    /dev/hde2 12.3 MB ext2 /boot 0 24

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •