Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am a bit new to the Linux world, have used Linux for a long time, but never set up a system myself. It is my intention to get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Shuttle SG41J1 PLUS

Hi, I am a bit new to the Linux world, have used Linux for a long time, but never set up a system myself. It is my intention to get a barebones system from Shuttle called "SG41J1 PLUS" and run Linux on it. This has the following H/W components:

- Intel Core2 Quad
    - Chipset Intel G41 + ICH7
    - VGA Intel X4500
    - Sound IDT 92HD89C
    - Ethernet Marvell 88E8057

Can I assume that the Intel ICH7 would be supported and the graphics too ?

For the Ethernet controller I obtained drivers (source code) from the manufacturer, so I hope this should be fine.

For the sound chip I don't know yet whether I could get drivers. Are there any ?
    I had a look at the ALSA project's site but could not see exactly this sound chip mentioned.

Should I expect any problem if I wanted to run a 64-bit version of Linux on that machine ?

Thanks,
    Siggy

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by QF006 View Post
    Hi, I am a bit new to the Linux world, have used Linux for a long time, but never set up a system myself. It is my intention to get a barebones system from Shuttle called "SG41J1 PLUS" and run Linux on it. This has the following H/W components:

- Intel Core2 Quad
    - Chipset Intel G41 + ICH7
    - VGA Intel X4500
    - Sound IDT 92HD89C
    - Ethernet Marvell 88E8057

Can I assume that the Intel ICH7 would be supported and the graphics too ?

For the Ethernet controller I obtained drivers (source code) from the manufacturer, so I hope this should be fine.

For the sound chip I don't know yet whether I could get drivers. Are there any ?
    I had a look at the ALSA project's site but could not see exactly this sound chip mentioned.